Guides: American Historical Periodicals: Periodical Indexes

Multidisciplinary/General Interest Periodical Indexes

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Provides comprehensive indexing of the popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, such as Time, Newsweek, New Republic, National Review, and many others. Covers 1900-1982. Contents reflect the history of 20th century America.
Periodicals Index Online
Primarily scholarly journals in the Humanities and social sciences. International scope and complete retrospective indexing of thousands of journals.
19th Century Masterfile
Indexing to 19th century periodicals. Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906), which includes date and title information not in the print version, Stead's Index to Periodicals (1890-1902), known as the "British Poole's."

Alternative Press Index, 1991-
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals.
Alternative Press Archive, 1969-1990
Index of journals (1969-1990) covering cultural, economic, political & social change
Left Index, 19th century-
Bibliographic citations for the "literature on the left". Topics include anarchism, art and esthetics, community organizing, culture studies, ecology and environmental studies, economics, gay and lesbian studies, globalization, history, indigenous people's rights, labor, law, philosophy, politics, prisons and criminal justice, race and ethnicity, social theory and sociology, and women's studies and feminism. Focus on 1982-present.
Lesbian Periodicals Index, 1947-1986
Index to articles published in lesbian periodicals 1947-1986. Indexes authors, subjects, prose, poems, drawings, cartoons, etc.

Black Literature Index
This index allows users to search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.

The performing arts in colonial American newspapers, 1690-1783 [electronic resource] : text database and index
Contains references to music, poetry, dance, and theater found in American newspapers published from 1690 through 1783, including those in French and German. Offers full text citations, indexes of names, genres, subjects, titles, and first-lines of lyrics, a bibliography of issues, and a graphic file of woodcuts.
Index to Jewish Periodicals online, 1988-
Index to Jewish Periodicals, 1963-

Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective
Combines the historical business literature indexes Industrial Arts Index (1913-1958), Business Periodicals Index (1958-1982), Applied Science & Technology Index (1958-1983). Articles cover events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry from 1913-1983.
Art Index Retrospective 1929-1984
Art. Coverage includes materials in English, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. Reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed materials are included.

Compendex, 1884-
Index to articles relating to to the broad subject areas of engineering and applied science. In the early years of the index coverage included articles of interest to the layman as well as to the scientist and included information about such topics as indoor plumbing, industrial hygiene and the development of skyscrapers.
more...less...
The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
DAR: Design Abstracts Retrospective, 1894-1986
Provides broad, international coverage on a wide range of subjects in the fields of design. Documents the development of design concepts in the early 20th century. Updated quarterly.

Education Index Retrospective (1929 - 1983)
Index of articles relating to all aspects of education, including management, curriculum development, standards, social issues impacting education, etc.

GeoRef, 1785-present
The principal tool for identifying the worldwide literature in geology and the geosciences.

Global Health
Global Health consists of more than 800,000 records from 1910 on, covering public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, more.

IndexCat, 15th century-1950
Bibliographic citations with subject indexing to the holdings of largest medical library in the late nineteenth century. Now useful for research in the history of medicine, history of science, and also for clinical research. Describes books, journal articles, dissertations, pamphlets, reports, newspaper clippings, case studies, obituary notices, letters, portraits, as well as rare books and manuscripts in many languages, ranging in date from 1400s to 1950.
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, 1910-
IIBP Full Text includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of over 20 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward).
PAIS Index, 1915-
Indexing on contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide related to a wide range of topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education, health, environment, planning, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations.

RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (1800-1950)
RIPM (Repertoire international de la presse musicale) provides access to the contents of European and American music periodicals published in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
RIPM (Repertoire international de la presse musicale) provides access to the contents of European and American music periodicals published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Topics covered include contemporary writings about composers, performers, compositions, and musical life. 200 volumes are planned. RIPM is published under the auspices of the International Musicological Society, the International Association of Music Librairies, Archives and Documentation Centres, and UNESCOs International Council for Philosophy and Humanitic Studies.