American Historical Periodicals: Periodicals Online

Includes:

• American Historical Periodicals, 1740-1949
  
• Art and Architecture Archive, 1860-2005
  
• Women's Magazine Archive
  
• Vogue
  
• Women's Wear Daily, 1910-
  
• Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

NOTE: Switch radio button to "Text Contents" for best results."
Collection of hundreds of millions of pages from international periodicals mainly published during the 20th and 19th centuries, including many mid-20th century titles previously unavailable online. Large collections of trade, STEM and general interest titles. Includes such important titles as ARTnews, Look, Harper's Bazaar, The Atlantic.

Recent fulltext magazine content, plus:

• Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society
  
• Education, business, popular: citations of undigitized material.
  
• Bloomberg Businessweek Archive
  
• Ebony Magazine
  
• Esquire Magazine
  
• Forbes Archive
  
• Fortune Magazine Archive
  
• JET Magazine Archive
  
• Life Magazine Archive
  
• Saturday Evening Post
  
• The Atlantic Magazine Archive
  
• The Nation Archive
  
• The National Review Archive
  
• The New Republic Archive
  
• Time Magazine Archive
  
• U.S. News & World Report Magazine

A monthly general-interest magazine that typically has presented a primarily liberal perspective since the 1920s. It was founded in the mid-19th century and was soon noted for its literary publications, political coverage and early use of illustrations. During the mid-20th century it lost importance before regaining its prominence in the 1980s.

The African American Historical Serials Collection includes African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies

The magazine was intended to entertain, inform and educate the women of America. In addition to extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health and hygiene, recipes and remedies and the like. Each issue also contained two pages of sheet music, written essentially for the pianoforte. Gradually the periodical matured into an important literary magazine...

Over 80 periodicals related to the development of photography in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Core electronic collection of books and journals, including the Journal of Social Hygiene, American Food Journal, Journal of Home Economics, Good Housekeeping, Harper's Bazaar.

Journal of the American Medical Association

Collection of over twenty 19th century magazines available online, many of which are not included in the American Periodical Series. Includes the Atlantic Monthly

Weekly magazine of politics and culture offering a consistently liberal, left wing perspective.

Scientific journal that includes coverage of issues of general interest to scientists and laymen.

Known as the "bible of baseball" for its comprehensive coverage of the sport.

The History of Women collection includes over 100 Women's periodicals, including housekeeping, religious, suffrage and labor magazines.

Includes over 3,000 volumes (over 1.7 million pages) of medical journals, primarily dating from 1797-1923. These volumes comprise 336 journal titles, of which many are complete or nearly complete runs.

This collection contains a series of American journals, magazines, and trade papers published in the United Kingdom and continental Europe from 1768 to 1925

Includes:

• American Historical Periodicals, 1740-1949
  
• Art and Architecture Archive, 1860-2005
  
• Women's Magazine Archive
  
• Vogue
  
• Women's Wear Daily, 1910-
  
• Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

Important periodical with a focus on Jewish issues. It is also notable for the neoconservative political stance it came to take.

Important 20th century periodical representing the perspective of American Catholics.

World's largest black publication. Features articles on education, history, politics, art, business, personalities, literature, civil rights, sports, entertainment, music and social events.

Includes:
Billboard (1907-1993)
Variety (1940-2000)
And many similar magazines covering theater, film and television.

Limit the Google Book search to 'magazines.' Full page color images for the included magazines are provided:
Baseball digest, 1940-; Black World/Negro Digest, Nov 1961 - Apr 1976; Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, Dec 1945 - Nov 1998; Ebony, Mar 1962-; Jet, Nov 1951-; New York magazine, Apr 29, 1968 - Dec 22, 1997; Popular mechanics, Jan 1905 - Dec 2005; Popular science, May 1872 - Feb 2008; Boy's Life, 1930-

Mostly mid- to late 20th century publications of the GI, feminist and LGBT communities.

Archive of classic media periodicals covering the histories of cinema, broadcasting and sound, scanned and hosted by the Internet Archive. Features runs of trade papers and fan magazines.

A semimonthly magazine founded by author William F. Buckley, Jr., in 1955 and based in New York City. It describes itself as "America's most widely read and influential magazine and web site for conservative news, commentary, and opinion."

Weekly publication offering commentary from a perspective that has veered between radically left wing and moderate over its history.

Not to be confused with the New York Times Review of Books, the New York Review of Books has served the dual function of reviewing books and providing an outlet for the views of primarily liberal intellectuals. It has featured public intellectuals such as Noam Chomsky and Hannah Arendt.

Weekly magazine offering a signature mix of reporting and commentary on politics, international affairs, popular culture and the arts, science and technology, and business, along with fiction, poetry, humor, and cartoons.

"Over 24,000 CLASSIC ARTICLES on artists from Aaliyah to ZZ Top, on all genres from rockabilly to hip hop, by the finest music writers of the last 50 years.Rock reviews, articles and interviews from the late 1950s to the present day."

America's foremost weekly magazine in the early 20th century, with a circulation of over 2 million by the 1920s. In the 1960s the Post began to loose money and circulation and never recovered.

Weekly newsmagazine established in 1923 to provide greater depth of coverage that was currently available in newspapers. It became the model for subsequent news weeklies.

Founded, published and maintained by Jesuits, this magazine has covered a wide range of issues of interest to the Catholic Church in the broadest sense. It has tended to be a relatively liberal publication.

Unparalleled assemblage of newsletters, newspapers, and periodicals by, for, and about gays and lesbians. Includes materials from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society and the Lesbian Herstory Archives include mainstream and alternative publications from 1970 to 2008.

Widely considered the ‘Wall St Journal’ of the fashion industry. From the first issue in 1910 to the present year, Women’s Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the industry’s most influential reads, tracing day-to-day news, opinion, and socio-economic trends, from runway reports to beauty product reviews. WWD is a unique record of the twentieth century US and international fashion and beauty business. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.

News, opinion and lifestyle publication aimed towards businessmen.

Competitor of Forbes and BusinessWeek.

Each genre-based collection unites every page and every issue of a diverse and influential group of magazines. These publications uniquely capture the social and historical context of each genre, and together support scholarly research areas such as race, class, gender, American studies, youth culture, and more across some of the most progressive decades of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Collected underground and popular culture magazines, including the Berkeley Barb, Muhammad Speaks, the East Village Other, and similar publications.

Teen magazine forms the core of this collection.

National Police Gazette and Argosy

more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

Includes long runs of signficant LGBT publications such as The Advocate.

The American Religions Collection from the Library at the University of California, Santa Barbara, currently houses the largest existing collection of primary and secondary materials on America’s many new religious and spiritual groups, churches, temples, and associations. Here researchers will find more than 600 rare serials issues on Wicca, Neo-Paganism, Magick, New Age, Theosophy, Spiritualism, New Thought movements, and Occult groups and 3,400 subject files related to post-World War II Pentecostalism, Baptism, Independent Fundamentalism, Mormonism, Adventism, the Holiness Movement, the Gospel Grace Church, Christian Science, Hebrew Christians, and Sacred Name Groups, as well as files on LGBTQ churches, female spirituality, and church and state issues.

Topical overviews on a wide range of issues. Includes background, current situation, chronology, contacts, and footnotes. Includes archive of past reports.

NOTE: Switch radio button to "Text Contents" for best results."
Collection of hundreds of millions of pages from international periodicals mainly published during the 20th and 19th centuries, including many mid-20th century titles previously unavailable online. Large collections of trade, STEM and general interest titles. Includes such important titles as ARTnews, Look, Harper's Bazaar, The Atlantic.