A series of books comprising the Greek and Latin classics up to the middle of the 6th century. Each title of the series includes an introduction, notes and a facing-page French translation. A yellow book cover decorated with Athena's Little Owl indicates a work by a Greek author; a red book cover with the Capitoline Wolf indicates a Latin work. Both pagan authors and Church Fathers are included in the series. The volumes have mostly PA call numbers, but there are a few outliers. Follow this link to see the list of the titles in the Collection des UniversiteĢs de France in the Franklin catalog.
Athena's Owl on an Athenian Tetradrachm. Courtesy of commons.wikimedia.org.
Published by the Harvard University Press, this series presents important works of ancient Greek and Latin literature. Designed to make the text accessible, the editions present the original Greek or Latin text on each left hand leaf and an English translation on the facing page.
Many of the Loeb texts are available online through the Perseus Project. Visit the list of printed volumes held in the Classics Resource Room. Try Perseus' more recently developed Scaife Viewer for Greek and Latin texts.
The Death of Caesar by Camuccini. Courtesy of commons.wikimedia.org.
This is a multi-volume reference work. The original edition was published in twelve volumes between 1924 and 1939. Publication of the new edition began in 1970. Every volume of the old edition has been re-conceived and re-written with new maps, illustrations and bibliographies. Some volumes having been expanded into two or more parts, as well as the addition of two extra volumes covering events up to 600 AD, brought the number of volumes in the set to 14. Existing plates to the volumes are avaible separately. Call Number D 57 .C252 1970. Connect to the online volumes of the Cambridge Histories.
The Classical Studies Resource room, located on the third floor of the Van Pelt Library (room 301), houses a non-circulating collection of primary, secondary and reference material useful to the study of ancient texts. The room includes six study carrels that are reserved for Classical Studies and Ancient History graduate students.
This is first modern, multi-volume encyclopedia of antiquity (including supplements) n the English language, translated from German. It provides comprehensive coverage of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE). A special section of the encyclopedia is devoted to the history of ancient world awareness and scholarship through later ages up to the present day.
You can also connect to the New Pauly, in English or German, online.
This is a multi-volume reference work. The original edition was published in twelve volumes between 1924 and 1939. Publication of the new edition began in 1970. Every volume of the old edition has been re-conceived and re-written with new maps, illustrations and bibliographies. Some volumes having been expanded into two or more parts, as well as the addition of two extra volumes covering events up to 600 AD, brought the number of volumes in the set to 14. Existing plates to the volumes are avaible separately. Call Number D 57 .C252 1970. Connect to the online volumes of the Cambridge Histories.
The Scriptorum Classicorum Bibliotheca Oxoniensis, published by Oxford University Press, is a series containing literary texts in the original Greek and Latin. Each edition includes an introduction traditionally written in Latin as well as an apparatus criticus, also in Latin.
Bust of Homer. Courtesy of commons.wikimedia.org.
These editions of Greek and Latin texts comprise the most thorough modern collection of ancient (and some medieval) Greco-Roman literature. The series, the full name of which is the Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana, consists of critical editions by leading scholars. Link to the records for individual volumes of Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum.
Orestes Wird von den Furien Verfolgt, by William-Adolphe Bouguereau. Courtesy of commons.wikimedia.org.
Corpus Inscriptionum Etruscarum: Collection of Etruscan inscriptions.
Corpus Inscriptionum Graecae (Inscriptiones Graecae): Ongoing collection of Greek inscriptions found on mainland Greece and its surrounding islands.
Corpus Inscriptionum Latinae (Inscriptiones Latinae): Collection of Latin inscriptions found throughout the former Roman Empire.
Die Attischen Grabreliefs: Collection of Athenian and surrounding Attic of gravestone epigraphy.
Inscriptiones Christianae Urbis Romae: Collection of Christian Epigraphy in Rome, including catacombs.
L'Année Épigraphique: Yearly collection of all inscriptions found in the previous year, primarily in Latin or Greek.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum: Yearly collection with apparatus criticus of Greek inscriptions found in the previous year. Call Number PA25 S866. Click link to follow to online version.
Ausführliches Lexikon der Griechischen und Römischen Mythologie: Lexicon of Greek and Roman myths and cults with special attention paid to material evidence.
Dictionary of Greek and Roman Geography: Series covering important aspects of geography found in Greek and Roman literature.
L'Année Philologique: Annual index of scholarly work related to Ancient Greece and Rome. (Also available online)
Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae: Reference series covering the topography of ancient Rome.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae: A comprehensive, ongoing scholarly dictionary of ancient Latin from the earliest times through AD 600.
Visit our guide to epigraphical sources at the Penn Libraries
