Classical Studies: Print and Online Resources at Penn: Epigraphical Sources

Serving as a source and a guide to papyrological and epigraphical resources dealing with Egypt and the Nile valley between roughly 800 BC and AD 800; texts in a variety of languages from Pharaonic and Greco-Roman Egypt; a prosopography of the people named in these texts; a database of placenames found in Greco-Roman Egypt; and a bibliography.

In Print (LIBRA. 888C I.yHi 1901) and full text access through Hathitrust.org. 1901 New and Revised edition and 1882 edition .

1974. In print only Van Pelt Library. Z111 .O54.

Also available online through Ebscohost

extensive list of abbreviations

From the Packard Humanities Institute, SGI is a "scholarly tool in progress." Aggregates the contents of printed collections and continues to be updated.

Directions and guidance on using the database are available at the site and there are multiple approaches to searching and browsing. HGV, contains contains around 56,100 records; they come from the nearly 580 published editions and it seeks to be an " an information center for all Internet activities in the field of papyrology."

Papyri.info has two primary components: the Papyrological Navigator (PN), which supports searching, browsing, and aggregation of ancient papyrological documents and related materials. It also features the Papyrological Editor (PE), which enables multi-author, version controlled, peer reviewed scholarly curation of papyrological texts, translations, commentary, scholarly metadata, institutional catalog records, bibliography, and images.

Provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt. Languages include Latin, Greek, Coptic, Arabic, Demotic, Hieratic.