Guides: Classical Studies: Print and Online Resources at Penn: Overview

Primary Source Collections

Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana
One of the most extensive collection of critical editions for ancient and medieval Greek and Roman texts. Search individual volume titles in the catalog to find print editions.
Brepolis Latin Collection of Full Text Latin Databases
Includes Archive of Celtin-Latin Literature
Aristoteles Latinus Database
Library of Latin Texts A & B
Monumenta Germaniae Historica
Patrologia Orientalis
International Medieval Bibliography
International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance
Collection des Universités de France Collection Budé
Like the Loeb editions, these are bilingual editions with Greek or Latin text on one side and the French translation on the other. These editions come with extensive introductions and critical apparatus.
Jacoby Online
Includes Felix Jacobys Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker Parts I-III, Brills New Jacoby, the new edition of these three parts, and the completely new Parts IV and V.
Loeb Classical Library
Long standing series of bilingual editions of Greek and Latin texts currently published by Harvard University Press. Now available digitally. See Digital Loeb under "Featured Resources"
Scriptorum Classicorum Bibliotheca Oxoniensis
Oxford's collection of critically prepared editions of Greek and Latin texts. Also available online through Oxford Scholarly Editions.

Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum - SEG
The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents. The print edition is located in the Classics Resource Room, 3rd floor of Van Pelt: PA25 .S866

JSTOR Images
A growing collection of images. In the advanced search, under the "Search" or "Browse" dropdown, select Images."

Bibliographies, handbooks, guides

Gnomon Online
This database covers references to "all aspects of classical studies", including reviews, notes, and obituaries from the printed volumes of v.1 (1925) through v.78 (2006). The annual bibliographies appearing since 1990 are also included as well as selected coverage of major journals from 1987 on. It also includes some indexing for the Pauly encyclopedias.

Handbook for Classical Research
brief but substantive overview of areas of research each section of which is followed by a review of the major resources. Van Pelt Reference Stacks and Museum Library. DE71 .S27 2011. Online edition allows three users at one time.
Oxford Bibliographies Online Classics
An online resource to a wide array of published material. Focused on literary topics, this bibliography includes bibliographic essays covering Aeschylus to Xenophon with many new articles on the way.
Oxford Handbooks in Classical Studies
extensive background information featuring the newest research--searchable across all texts in all handbooks.
This link will take you to the new Oxford Academic site -- and is limited to subject area, "Classical Studies" and collection, "Oxford Handbooks." This may not include all of the archaeology handbooks, or geographical regions beyond Greece and Rome. If you have a topic or are looking for a specific handbook, try the Franklin catalog first, or go to this Oxford Academic site and search by keywords (scrolling down to find the option to limit to Oxford Handbooks). Contact your subject librarian for assistance.
Cambridge Ancient History

Databases for books, journal articles, and primary sources

Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR)
Online source for timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). since 1990.

TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%).
The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains nearly 200 journals, and over 75,000 articles including articles published since 2012.

Nestor Bibliography of Aegean and Related Areas
An international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields covering Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey; central and western Mediterranean, southeastern Europe, the eastern Mediterranean, western Asia, and other regions of archaeological research.
Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) Online Archive
Indexes and provides access to journals and texts from the Biblical Archaeology Society.
JSTOR
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database. JSTOR indexes about 73 Classical Studies titles. Go To L'Annee philologique for a much more comprehensive search
more...less...
The most current issues are only available for a handful of titles. Includes major Classical Studies journals, but a relatively small selection.

Humanities Index
indexes over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries. Very broad coverage of the humanities
An abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, Humanities Index covers over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Topics include architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, education, economics, foreign affairs, environment, cinema, current affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, and theatre.
Project Muse
Project Muse provides full text access to articles from over 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, social sciences and sciences. Coverage begins in 1995 or more recently and in most cases continues to the present. Issues are available both as images and as text; searching is possible both within each title and across the whole database.

HathiTrust.org
HathiTrust evolves out of the Google Books project. Libraries who contributed their collections to Google have formed a not for profit freely available database of all materials in the public domain. Public Domain items are fully available, items still under copyright can be searched, but you cannot view the actual text. Login as a Penn affiliate to create private or public collections, and to download single pages, entire books, or journal issues.
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek OpacPlus
Find many fully accessible online books through this catalog. When constructing your search click the box next to: Suche auch in Volltexten (Literatur des 19. Jh.) and at the dropdown box, under Medienart, choose Online-Ressource
Worldcat
Search libraries all over the country and around the world. You'll find Penn's library collection represented here as well as most other libraries. Identify material to request through interlibrary loan.

Featured Resources

L'Annee Philologique
The standard database for research in the broad area of Classical Studies. It indexes the current scholarship from over 1,500 journals and as well as books, edited volumes and conference papers.

The print volumes are held in the Classics Resource Room on the 3rd floor of Van Pelt from 1949 to the present. Print volumes allow the reader to easily scan, via specific categories, the publications for any give year. Call Number: PA2 .A553

Digital Loeb
Digital Loeb provides fully searchable access to the entire bilingual Loeb library of critical editions of Greek and Latin texts. Click on the link for volumes to browse through all the Loeb volume titles, or search by author, title or keywords within the text through basic or advanced search boxes. Search by keyword will take you to links for a chapter or segment from a volume. There will be a link just above the text block of that chapter or segment that will take you to the entire volume. At the bottom of the text block you will see a box that allows you to searcher more deeply into the text you've selected.
A long list of Journals in the broad field of Classical Stuies
Not all journals are available online. This link will include print, online, currently received, and ceased titles. Be sure to search the libraries catalog for journal titles, and L'Annee Philologique or Articles+ for specific articles.
journal you are looking for. You can often click through to the full text article by clicking a pdf icon, a "full text" link or the "penntext" icon next to an article citation.
Neue Pauly
The original German version is also available online.

New Pauly Online
The online version, including supplements, to the printed English language encyclopedia. DE5 .P33213 2006. The supplements are currently in print only: DE5 .N4813 2007 Suppl. The print version is available in the Classics Resource Room.

Oxford Classical Dictionary -- continuously updated
Provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online (OSEO)
Fully searchable; textual links connect to the online Oxford Latin Dictionary. Penn Libraries continues to update our holdings to include all available editions. See the complete list
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
The TLG was founded in 1972 to digitize the entire corpus of Greek literature from Homer to the fall of Byzantium. It now includes over 6,500 works by over 1,800 authors and is fully searchable online. See directions just below for instructions on connecting. This includes setting up your own personal account after you log in with your pennkey and password.

Connecting to TLG Full Corpus

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) Online
Online version of the Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL), a comprehensive, ongoing scholarly dictionary of ancient Latin from the earliest times through AD 600. Also appears in the Van Pelt Classics Resource Room. PA2361 .T4.
Trismegistos
Hosted by by KU Leuven, Trismegistos is a continuously updated resource for information on 900,000+sources from antiquity, dating from about 800 BC to AD 800. Learn more about Trismegistos.

Gateways to Classcial Studies and Archaeology Links and Collections

Bibliotheca Classica Selecta
This site is meant to be an introduction to classical studies. It is intended primarily for students of classics and ancient history, but can be used by anyone interested in the Greco-Roman world. It includes an encyclopedia, dictionaries, bibliographies for sub-disciplines for both books and journal articles.

Dyabola Project
Brings together information about collections and resources. On the home page menu click on Web Access. Click in the box that says "IP access," and then click on start. You'll be taken to another menu that includes a list of databases. You'll find that the Penn Libraries subscribe to four of the databases. Archäologische Bibliographie, Datenbank der attischen Grabreliefs des 5. und 4. Jahrhunderts, Monographien der Bibliographie zur Vor- und Frühgeschichte Europas, and Eurasienbibliographie des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts. Choose to work with the databases in either German or English.

Perseus Digital Library
links to images, maps, secondary and primary resources
Perseus Digital Library: Scaife Viewer
The Scaife Viewer is a reading environment for pre-modern text collections in both their original languages and in translation.
Zenon DAI
a searchable database of the holdings of the Römisch-Germanischen-Kommission. Focused on ancient archaeology, the Zenon DAI collection consists of links to a combination of freely available and pay-per-view resources. Lists of newly acquired materials from the member libraries (primarily German and other European libraries) can also be viewed.
Electronic Resources for Classicists
Maintained by the Thesaurus Lingue Graecae administrator Maria Pantelia, University of California, Irvine. This site is not comprehensive but will direct you to many useful sources. This site does not appear to be updated.
Pennsylvania Sumerian Dictionary
The PSD is preparing an exhaustive dictionary of the Sumerian language which aims to be useful to non-specialists as well as Sumerologists. It is also developing tools and datasets for working with the Sumerian language and its text-corpora.

Ancient History Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of Ancient History. ONLINE by edited by Roger S. Bagnall
ISBN: 9781405179355
Publication Date: 2012
Also available in print at Van Pelt and Museum Libraries: D54 .E53 2013
This 13 volume encyclopedia provides definitions and explanations of the key people, places, and events in ancient history. It spans the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE and covers the entire ancient Mediterranean world including the Near East and Egypt. Includes figures and maps.
Encyclopedia of Greek Tragedy by Hanna M. Roisman
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781444335927
Publication Date: 2013
A comprehensive reference work to cover all facets of the distinct form of dramatic theater that flourished in ancient Greece with its apex in the 5th century BCE. Covers the 32 extant plays and playwrights of the period, including information on some lost works and surviving fragments
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics. Online by Georgios K. Giannakis (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004225978
Publication Date: 2014
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics brings together the latest research from a range of disciplines. The EAGLL offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of Ancient Greek, comprising detailed descriptions of the language from Proto-Greek to koine. It addresses linguistic aspects from several perspectives including history, structure, individual singularities, biographical references, schools of thought, technical meta-language, sociolinguistic issues, dialects, didactics, translation practices, generic issues, Greek in relation to other languages, etc., and on all levels of analysis including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, lexicon, semantics, stylistics, etc.

Subject Guide

Nick Okrent

Email Me

Contact:

Van Pelt Library, room 204

215-573-2217

Subjects: Africana Studies, Asian-American Studies, History, Philosophy, U.S. History

Assistance with Classical Studies /Ancient History: searching, identifying, accessing materials in print or online

Please send me an email anytime with questions or let me know if you'd like to set up an appointment to meet in person. See above

Acis and Galatea

Photo taken by Wally Gobetz
Jardin du Luxembourg - Fontaine de Médicis - Galatée dans des bras d'Acis le berger

Looking for an Ebook?

Penn Libraries will often purchase an entire publisher's catalog and the books will be available before the records are in the catalog.

Even if it isn't in the catalog, it may be available online
- Go to EBOOK DATABASES in the catalog
- Select the publisher you are looking for and
- the list of publisher platforms is in a left hand column
- click then return to the top of the record to click the big green button
- Once at the site, search for the book by title or e-isbn to see if we have access.
Can't find it? Request a collections purchase. (Print or electronic)

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome

Ancient Greece and Rome. ONLINE by Michael Gagarin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195170726
Publication Date: 2009
Provides a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
Brill's encyclopedia of the Neo-Latin World by Ford, Phillip, et al.
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9789004271296
Publication Date: 2015
Traces the history, practice of use, and wide-ranging cultural influence of Neo-Latin

Guide to the Reference Literature

Classical Studies by Fred W. Jenkins
Call Number: Van Pelt Stacks, Classical Resource Room, Museum: PA91 .J46 2006
ISBN: 9781591581192
Publication Date: 2006
A revised and expanded annotated bibliography of book-length reference works, covering the rise and fall of the Greek and Roman civilizations from the Bronze Age through the 6th century AD.
Handbook for Classical Research by David M. Schaps
Call Number: Online resource
ISBN: 9780415425230
Publication Date: 2010
This is a basic handbook for every student of classics that will instruct him/her in how to research every area of classical studies, from undergraduate dissertation upwards. It will also be of assistance to scholars and complements standard reference books by concentrating on 'how-to' topics.

Myth and Iconology

Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC) by John Boardman
Call Number: Fine Arts and Museum Libraries: N7760 .L49
ISBN: 3760887600
Publication Date: 1986-2009
12 volumes including supplement and indexes, this multivolume encyclopedia catalogs representations of mythology in the arts of classical antiquity. There is a digital version divided across three universities, one not yet accessible. WebLIMC