It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Like the Loeb editions, these are bilingual editions with Greek or Latin text on one side and the French translation on the other. These editions come with extensive introductions and critical apparatus.
The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents. The print edition is located in the Classics Resource Room, 3rd floor of Van Pelt: PA25 .S866
This database covers references to "all aspects of classical studies", including reviews, notes, and obituaries from the printed volumes of v.1 (1925) through v.78 (2006). The annual bibliographies appearing since 1990 are also included as well as selected coverage of major journals from 1987 on. It also includes some indexing for the Pauly encyclopedias.
brief but substantive overview of areas of research each section of which is followed by a review of the major resources. Van Pelt Reference Stacks and Museum Library. DE71 .S27 2011. Online edition allows three users at one time.
provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%). The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains nearly 200 journals, and over 75,000 articles including articles published since 2012.
An international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields covering Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey; central and western Mediterranean, southeastern Europe, the eastern Mediterranean, western Asia, and other regions of archaeological research.
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.
indexes over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries. Very broad coverage of the humanities
An abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, Humanities Index covers over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Topics include architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, education, economics, foreign affairs, environment, cinema, current affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, and theatre.
Project Muse provides full text access to articles from over 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, social sciences and sciences. Coverage begins in 1995 or more recently and in most cases continues to the present. Issues are available both as images and as text; searching is possible both within each title and across the whole database.
HathiTrust evolves out of the Google Books project. Libraries who contributed their collections to Google have formed a not for profit freely available database of all materials in the public domain. Public Domain items are fully available, items still under copyright can be searched, but you cannot view the actual text. Login as a Penn affiliate to create private or public collections, and to download single pages, entire books, or journal issues.
Find many fully accessible online books through this catalog. When constructing your search click the box next to: Suche auch in Volltexten (Literatur des 19. Jh.) and at the dropdown box, under Medienart, choose Online-Ressource
Search libraries all over the country and around the world. You'll find Penn's library collection represented here as well as most other libraries. Identify material to request through interlibrary loan.
The standard database for research in the broad area of Classical Studies. It indexes the current scholarship from over 1,500 journals and as well as books, edited volumes and conference papers.
The print volumes are held in the Classics Resource Room on the 3rd floor of Van Pelt from 1949 to the present. Print volumes allow the reader to easily scan, via specific categories, the publications for any give year. Call Number: PA2 .A553
Digital Loeb provides fully searchable access to the entire bilingual Loeb library of critical editions of Greek and Latin texts. Click on the link for volumes to browse through all the Loeb volume titles, or search by author, title or keywords within the text through basic or advanced search boxes. Search by keyword will take you to links for a chapter or segment from a volume. There will be a link just above the text block of that chapter or segment that will take you to the entire volume. At the bottom of the text block you will see a box that allows you to searcher more deeply into the text you've selected.
Not all journals are available online. This link will include print, online, currently received, and ceased titles. Be sure to search the libraries catalog or the Penntext citation linker for any article or journal you are looking for. When searching the Penntext citation linker, type in as much information as you have. If there is no online link, click on the Franklin link to find a print copy. And don't forget to search Borrow Direct or E-Zborrow if your journal is not in the catalog.
The online version, including supplements, to the printed English language encyclopedia. DE5 .P33213 2006. The supplements are currently in print only: DE5 .N4813 2007 Suppl. The print version is available in the Classics Resource Room.
Fully searchable; textual links connect to the online Oxford Latin Dictionary. As of 2019, all Greek and Latin texts are available to the Penn communiy.
Follow the link and click on the icon for Browse Authors or Browse Titles
The TLG was founded in 1972 to digitize the entire corpus of Greek literature from Homer to the fall of Byzantium. It now includes over 6,500 works by over 1,800 authors and is fully searchable online.
Online version of the Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL), a comprehensive, ongoing scholarly dictionary of ancient Latin from the earliest times through AD 600. Also appears in the Van Pelt Classics Resource Room. PA2361 .T4.
Gateways to Classcial Studies and Archaeology Links and Collections
This site is meant to be an introduction to classical studies. It is intended primarily for students of classics and ancient history, but can be used by anyone interested in the Greco-Roman world. It includes an encyclopedia, dictionaries, bibliographies for sub-disciplines for both books and journal articles.
Brings together information about collections and resources. On the home page menu click on Web Access. Click in the box that says "IP access," and then click on start. You'll be taken to another menu that includes a list of databases. You'll find that the Penn Libraries subscribe to four of the databases. Archäologische Bibliographie, Datenbank der attischen Grabreliefs des 5. und 4. Jahrhunderts, Monographien der Bibliographie zur Vor- und Frühgeschichte Europas, and Eurasienbibliographie des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts. Choose to work with the databases in either German or English.
a searchable database of the holdings of the Römisch-Germanischen-Kommission. Focused on ancient archaeology, the Zenon DAI collection consists of links to a combination of freely available and pay-per-view resources. Lists of newly acquired materials from the member libraries (primarily German and other European libraries) can also be viewed.
"The Ur Digitization Project is a collaboration between the British Museum and the Penn Museum to create an online research tool that interconnects diverse data from the ancient city of Ur. The two museums jointly excavated the site from 1922-1934 and they now continue their long-standing and successful cooperation into the 21st century." This project is in its beginning stages. Extensive metadata with images still to be added
Also available in print at Van Pelt and Museum Libraries: D54 .E53 2013
This 13 volume encyclopedia provides definitions and explanations of the key people, places, and events in ancient history. It spans the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE and covers the entire ancient Mediterranean world including the Near East and Egypt. Includes figures and maps.
A comprehensive reference work to cover all facets of the distinct form of dramatic theater that flourished in ancient Greece with its apex in the 5th century BCE. Covers the 32 extant plays and playwrights of the period, including information on some lost works and surviving fragments
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics brings together the latest research from a range of disciplines. The EAGLL offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of Ancient Greek, comprising detailed descriptions of the language from Proto-Greek to koine. It addresses linguistic aspects from several perspectives including history, structure, individual singularities, biographical references, schools of thought, technical meta-language, sociolinguistic issues, dialects, didactics, translation practices, generic issues, Greek in relation to other languages, etc., and on all levels of analysis including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, lexicon, semantics, stylistics, etc.
Unfortunately during the current pandemic crisis, I am unable to meet with you in person. Please see the box above to make an appointment with me for a zoom consultation or to communicate via email. I will be happy to work to find a time that works for you in your time zone. Generally, I can be available from 7:00 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. eastern time.
Acis and Galatea
Photo taken by Wally Gobetz Jardin du Luxembourg - Fontaine de Médicis - Galatée dans des bras d'Acis le berger
Provides a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
This is a basic handbook for every student of classics that will instruct him/her in how to research every area of classical studies, from undergraduate dissertation upwards. It will also be of assistance to scholars and complements standard reference books by concentrating on 'how-to' topics.