Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Books at the Penn Libraries
- Search via key terms or subject terms.
- You may sort your results by Pub Date (new to old) -- you can add specific dates in the "Advanced Search" or use the filters in the left-hand column to choose a specific decade.
- You can filter by language, format (film, score, music, print book, electronic book, journal, newspaper), location, and more
- You can also searching "AND" "OR" and "NOT" to form boolean searches. For instance:
- (Greece OR Rome OR Islamic OR arab OR greek OR roman) AND medicine AND (ancient OR classical OR antiqu*)
- an *asertisk* truncates your terms. Unfortunately, gree* rom* are probably too ambiguous to be helpful truncated. but antiqu* works well (antique, antiquity)
Guides, Libraries, Museums
Web Sites, Special Resources
Digital Augustan Rome
a long term mapping project that provides a digital successor to the published book and maps of Mapping Augustan Rome that appeared as Supplement 50 in the Journal of Roman Archaeology Series, 2002. The volume was directed by Lothar Haselberger in collaboration with David Gilman Romano and edited by Elisha Dumser.
Dickenson College Commentaries
Latin and Greek texts for reading, with explanatory notes, essays, vocabulary, and graphic, video, and audio elements
searchable database of archaeology in in Italy, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Malta, Serbia, and Croatia since 2000. Also referred to as FOLD&R, an online peer-reviewed journal containing excavation reports on Italian sites since 2000.
Pennsylvania Sumerian Dictionary (PSD)
When complete, this will be an exhaustive dictionary of the Sumerian language useful to non-specialists as well as Sumerologists. The creators are developing tools and datasets for working with the Sumerian language and its text-corpora. The work for this database comes out of the Babylonian section of the Penn Museum.
Pompeian Households: An Online Companion
Supporting Penelope M. Allison's Pompeian Households: An Analysis of the Material Culture (Cotsen Institute of Archaeology, Monograph 42). This site provides detailed documentary information on 30 Pompeian houses and their contents.
The Vergil Project
A resource for Students, Teachers, and Readers of Vergil, The Vergil Project offers an on-line hypertext linked to interpretive materials of various kinds. These include basic information about grammar, syntax, and diction; several commentaries; an apparatus criticus; help with scansion; and other resources. Created by the University of Pennsylvania Department of Classical Studies.
Ancient World Mapping Center
The Ancient World Mapping Center is an interdisciplinary research center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Books of General Interest
This list includes print and electronic titles. Many electronic titles have a print equivalent. Search in Penn Libraries' online catalog Frankin.
encyclopedic coverage of Islam worldwide, ancient and modern times.
Classical Resource Room
The Classical Studies Resource Room holds a small collection of literary, historical, epigraphical, and reference works useful to the study of ancient texts. It is a noncirculating collection located on the third floor of the Van Pelt Library (room 301). The room has six tables for researchers to use.
Copyright and support for the publishing process