This is the "Veterinary Apps" page of the "Health Sciences Mobile Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 *  Choose a Library * Ask Us/Get Help * Site Guide * Penn

Health Sciences Mobile Resources   Tags: 0type research guide, productivity tutorial  

Last Updated: Dec 8, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.upenn.edu/mobilehealth Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Veterinary Apps Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

SMALL ANIMAL APPS

Canine Ophthalmology Canine Ophthalmology
"Contains over 380 examples of canine eye disease. Includes disease overview, clinical signs, diagnosis, and treatment."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  ($$)
Feline Ophthalmology Feline Ophthalmology
"Contains over 190 examples of feline eye disease. Includes disease overview, clinical signs, diagnosis, and treatment."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  ($$)
Dog Anatomy: Canine 3D Dog Anatomy: Canine 3D
"Interactive visual reference with over 300 anatomical structures. Includes superficial landmarks, most superficial and deep muscles, bones, and organs."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  ($)
Dog CPR Dog CPR
"Features detailed notes, pictures, and a drugs table, and provides up to date information to help veterinarians perform successful CPR on their canine patients."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  (Free)
Pet First Aid - Red Cross Pet First Aid - Red Cross
Contains veterinary advice for dog and cat emergencies. Includes videos, quizzes, and step-by-step advice. Developed in consultation with Penn Vet's Dr. Deborah C. Mandel.
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  ($)
Pet Poison Help Pet Poison Help
"Contains info on 100+ toxic household products and plants and instructions on what to do if your dog or cat is exposed."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  ($)
Abbott Animal Health IV Fluids Abbott Animal Health IV Fluids
"Calculate Total Volume of Crystalloid Fluids for dogs and cats going under Fluid Therapy. Includes Deficit Volume, Normal Ongoing Losses, Abnormal Ongoing Losses calculation."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  (Free)
Vet Calculator Plus Vet Calculator Plus
"Quick and easy way to do many calculations performed in veterinary practice. Contains over 30 separate calculators primarily aimed at small animal practitioners."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  ($)
DVM Calc DVM Calc
"Contains 26 practical calculators, 15 specific constant rate infusion calculators, and 10 toxicity calculators for small animals."
Available for: iPhone/iPad ($)
TARGET (Vet) TARGET (Vet)
"The Veterinary Antimicrobial Reference Guide to Effective Treatment. For treating microbial infections in small animals."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  (Free)
AAHA American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA)
Provides AAHA yearly conference info, NEWStat vet news updates, and access to AAHA resources.
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  (Free)
 

EQUINE APPS

Horse Anatomy: Equine 3D Horse Anatomy: Equine 3D
"Explore the anatomy of the horse in 3D space. This app covers superficial landmarks, most muscles, the bones, and the organs."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  ($)
Equine Techniques Equine Techniques
"Provides step-by-step instructions for 54 clinical techniques used in equine practice. Includes 269 photos and diagrams and 37 movies."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  ($$)
Equine Drugs Equine Drugs
"Covers 405 different drugs in 625 dose regimens. Includes dose calculator function and continuous infusion calculator."
Available for: iPhone/iPad ($$) | Android ($$$)
Equine Lab Equine Lab
"The most complete list of equine lab reference ranges available. Includes values for synovial fluid, urine analysis, CSF, blood gas analysis, and hematology and biochemistry tests."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  ($$)
Equine Reproductive Ultrasound Equine Reproductive Ultrasound
"Comprehensive guide to equine female reproductive tract. Covers anestrus, transition, estrus, abnormal uterine involution, ovulation, diestrus, foal heat, and pregnancy."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  ($$)
Advanced Equine Reproductive Ultrasound Advanced Equine Reproductive Ultrasound
"For vets already familiar with examining the equine female reproductive tract. Covers ovarian diseases, uterine diseases, twin diagnosis and reduction, and fetal sexing."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  ($$$)
Equine Radiography Equine Radiography
"Provides instructions on taking diagnostic X-rays of the horse. Includes details on preparation, positioning, and an exposure guide."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  ($)
Equine Joint Injections Equine Joint Injections
"Describes the approach by both synoviocentesis and arthroscopy to clinically important joints/sheaths/bursae in the horse."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  ($$)
Equine Dermatology Equine Dermatology
"Contains 166 labeled examples of equine skin disease. Includes disease overview, clinical signs, diagnosis, and treatment."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  ($$)
Equine AcuPoints Equine AcuPoints
"Provides images of Major Meridians, Point Classification listings, Detailed Acupoint Location, Energetics & Functions, and commonly used acupoints for specific equine conditions."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  ($$)
Foal CPR Foal CPR
"Detailing at birth foal CPR for vets and horse owners. Includes colour pictures, videos, and a sound track to aid the correct timing for CPR."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  (Free)
Hagyard Pharmacy Mobile Formulary Hagyard Pharmacy Mobile Formulary
"Contains equine drug indications, administration amount, route, and frequency for over 120 medications."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  (Free)
Equine Veterinary Journal Equine Veterinary Journal (EVJ)
Read the latest issues of EVJ through Penn (see: Institutional Access) by downloading to your Apple Newsstand. Quarterly reactivation from campus required.
Available for: iPad  (Free with subscription)
 

FOOD ANIMAL APPS

ThermalAid ThermalAid
"A tool to identify, monitor, and reduce heat stress in cattle to improve welfare and performance."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  (Free)
Poultry International Magazine Poultry International Magazine
"Covers the trends, news, interactive features, and products from Poultry International magazine. Discover the latest poultry advances, technology and trends."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  (Free)
VetGRAM Vet's Guide to Residue Avoidance Management (VetGRAM)
"Information resource for drugs approved in food-producing animal species. Includes approved drug uses, government restrictions, required withdrawal times and tolerances."
Available for: Android  (Free)
 

EXOTIC / WILDLIFE APPS

Exotic Pet Vet Exotic Pet Vet
"Covers husbandry, nutrition and handling, common diseases, treatments, and formulary for commonly presented birds, reptiles, and small mammals."
Available for: Android  ($)
Veterinary Care of Exotic Pets Veterinary Care of Exotic Pets
"Provides biological data on commonly presented exotic species including rabbits, guinea pigs, hamsters, tortoises and other reptiles and birds."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  ($$)
iBird Yard+ iBird Yard+ Guide to Birds
"Covers 231 different bird species including all the common birds found in backyard feeders in North America."
Available for: iPhone/iPad ($)
 

GENERAL VETERINARY REFERENCE APPS

Cell Counter Cell Counter
"Cell Counter is intended for manual white blood cell analysis or any other counting application."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  ($)
IV Drip Rate Calculator IV Drip Rate Calculator
Used to calculate, set, and check precise intravenous therapy drip-rates.
Available for: iPhone/iPad ($) | Android (Free)
VetPDA Calcs VetPDA Calcs
"Contains 22 useful calculators for Veterinary Medicine students and professionals"
Available for: iPhone/iPad  ($)
A Vet Tool A Vet Tool
Contains 5 apps in 1: a small animal drug formulary; common blood value lab results for small, equine, and exotic animals; x-ray comparisons; 9 medical calculators; and a notepad.
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  ($)
Timeless Vet Drug Index Timeless Vet Drug Index
"Evidence-based veterinary drug formulary authored by Dr. Etienne Côté, Dr. Stephen Ettinger, and Dr. Wayne Schwark."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  (Free)
Epocrates Epocrates
Human medicine drug reference useful for the human medicines prescribed to animals. Includes drug index, drug interaction checker, and helpful pill identifier.
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  (Free)
iGeneric iGeneric
"Contains information for 9,208 drug products which have therapeutical equivalents. Completely covers the FDA's Orange Book."
Available for: iPhone/iPad ($) | Android (Free)
Animal & Veterinary Drugs Animal & Veterinary Drugs
"Contains over 2,400 drug listings from the FDA Veterinary Database. Includes dosage and usage, ability to filter by animal type."
Available for: iPhone/iPad ($)
CVP Compendium of Veterinary Products (CVP)
"CVP features over 5,000 pharmaceutical, biological, feed medication and parasiticide product monographs."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  (Free)
Merck Veterinary Manual The Merck Veterinary Manual
"Contains authoritative guidelines for the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of animal disorders and diseases. For companion, production, exotic, and laboratory animals."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  ($$$$$)
Eponyms Eponyms
"Provides a short description of more than 1,700 common and obscure medical eponyms, such as Rovsing's sign and Virchow's node."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  (Free)
MedAbbreviations MedAbbreviations
Medical Abbreviations Reference contains over 14,000 medical abbreviations: scrollable, searchable, and bookmarkable."
Available for: iPhone/iPad  ($)
Medical Spanish - AUDIO Medical Spanish - AUDIO
"Designed for non-Spanish speaking health care professionals to quickly ascertain vital medical information from their Spanish speaking patients."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  (Free)
ECG Guide ECG Guide
"Contains 200+ high-resolution ECGs with common and complex findings for easy reference."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  ($)
WikiVet WikiVet
"Created by UK veterinary schools to provide a comprehensive online knowledge base covering the entire veterinary curriculum."
Available for: Android  (Free for Vet Professionals)
BrowZine BrowZine
Access Penn's scholarly journal subscriptions on your Apple or Android tablet. Download and authenticate with Penn credentials to access full-text articles.
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android Tablet  (Free)
 

VETERINARY TEST PREP APPS

Veterinary Board Exam Review Veterinary Board Exam Review
"To prepare for the NAVLE®, BCSE, PAVE QE, and regional vet board licensing exams. Initial app contains 60 questions with referenced answers from Volume 1. Ability to add additional cards to access Volumes 2 and 3 for a possible total of 1800 cards."
Available for: iPhone/iPad | Android  ($)
iStudy: Veterinary Anatomy iStudy: Veterinary Anatomy
A study tool that includes a study mode, test mode, and report card to help learn basic veterinary anatomy.
Available for: iPhone/iPad ($)
 

NOTE

These apps have not been tested by Penn Vet Library staff. To suggest other useful apps, or to suggest that apps be removed from this list, please email us.

Thanks to SAVMA's The Vet Gazette and VMD Technology for suggesting some of these apps.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip