Skip to main content

Health Sciences Mobile Resources: Veterinary Apps

Veterinary Mobile Apps

GENERAL VETERINARY REFERENCE APPS

The Merck Veterinary Manual 
"Contains authoritative guidelines for the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of animal disorders and diseases. For companion, production, exotic, and laboratory animals." 
Available for: iOS | Android  (free)

Animal & Veterinary Drugs 
"Contains over 2,400 drug listings from the FDA Veterinary Database. Includes dosage and usage, ability to filter by animal type."
Available for: iOS ($)

A Vet Tool 
Contains 5 apps in 1: a small animal drug formulary; common blood value lab results for small, equine, and exotic animals; x-ray comparisons; 9 medical calculators; and a notepad.
Available for: iOS ($)

VetPDA Calcs

VetPDA Calcs 
"Contains 22 useful calculators for Veterinary Medicine students and professionals" 
Available for: iOS  ($)

Compendium of Veterinary Products (CVP) 
"CVP features over 5,000 pharmaceutical, biological, feed medication and parasiticide product monographs." 
Available for: iOS  (Free)

Timeless Vet Drug Index

Timeless Vet Drug Index 
"Evidence-based veterinary drug formulary authored by Dr. Etienne Côté, Dr. Stephen Ettinger, and Dr. Wayne Schwark." 
Available for: iOS | Android  (Free)

Black's Student Veterinary Dictionary
"Dictionary and primary reference on animal health and husbandry matters." 
Available for: iOS  ($$$)

Plumb's Veterinary Drugs
"Must-have resource for accessing up-to-date veterinary drug information. With this tool, finding drugs is easier and faster than ever before. Plus, with the release of the app, say goodbye to the days of slow internet, and hello to instant, offline drug information. Quickly search for a drug by class, generic or trade name, and then use the quick navigation links for fast access to a drug’s dose, dosage forms, drug interactions and adverse effects." 
Available for: iOS | Android ($$$$$ - yearly fee)

Vetivex Flow Rate Calculator
"Provides assistance in calculating IV fluid requirements and infusion rates for dogs, cats and horses for veterinary professionals.  This IV Fluid Flow Rate Calculator assists in generating a fluid plan by using parameters that assess hypovolemia, dehydration, ongoing losses and physiologic fluid requirements."
Available for: iOS | Android  (Free)

SMALL ANIMAL APPS

TARGET (Vet) 
"The Veterinary Antimicrobial Reference Guide to Effective Treatment. For treating microbial infections in small animals." 
Available for: iOS Android  (Free)
Vet Cardiology

Vet Cardiology
Information on more than 60 cardiac diseases and conditions in small animals.
Available for: iOS ($$)

Vet Calculator Plus
"Quick and easy way to do many calculations performed in veterinary practice. Contains over 30 separate calculators primarily aimed at small animal practitioners." 
Available for: Android  ($)
Dog CPR 
"Features detailed notes, pictures, and a drugs table, and provides up to date information to help veterinarians perform successful CPR on their canine patients." 
Available for: iOS  (Free)
Feline Ophthalmology 
"Contains over 190 examples of feline eye disease. Includes disease overview, clinical signs, diagnosis, and treatment." 
Available for: iOS  ($$$)
Dog Anatomy: Canine 3D Dog Anatomy: Canine 3D 
"Interactive visual reference with over 300 anatomical structures. Includes superficial landmarks, most superficial and deep muscles, bones, and organs."
Available for: iOS | Android  ($)
Pet First Aid - Red Cross Pet First Aid - Red Cross 
Contains veterinary advice for dog and cat emergencies. Includes videos, quizzes, and step-by-step advice. Developed in consultation with Penn Vet's Dr. Deborah C. Mandel.
Available for: iOS | Android  (Free)
DVM Calc 
"Contains 26 practical calculators, 15 specific constant rate infusion calculators, and 10 toxicity calculators for small animals." 
Available for: iOS ($)

 

Zoetis IV Fluid Volume Calculator 
"Calculate Total Volume of Crystalloid Fluids for dogs and cats going under Fluid Therapy. Includes Deficit Volume, Normal Ongoing Losses, Abnormal Ongoing Losses calculation." 
Available for: iOS  (Free)

MN Urolith
"The Minnesota Urolith Center, in partnership with Hill’s Pet Nutrition, provides complementary urolith analysis and science supported treatment recommendations to veterinarians worldwide. The application is exclusively for veterinarians and veterinary support staff. It requires an existing account on the main system at www.urolithcenter.org. Use the same email and password to access the iPhone application, enabling convenient viewing of the status of recent submissions." 
Available for: iOS  (Free)

Price Key

$ less than $9.99
$$ $10 - $19.99
$$$ $20 - $29.99
$$$$ $30 - $39.99
$$$$$ more than $40

EQUINE APPS

Hagyard Pharmacy Mobile Formulary Hagyard Pharmacy Mobile Formulary 
"Contains equine drug indications, administration amount, route, and frequency for over 120 medications." 
Available for: iOS (Free)
Equine AcuPoints Equine AcuPoints 
"Provides images of Major Meridians, Point Classification listings, Detailed Acupoint Location, Energetics & Functions, and commonly used acupoints for specific equine conditions." 
Available for: iOS  ($$)
Foal CPR 
"A unique resource detailing at birth foal CPR for veterinarians and horse owners.
Available for: iOS  (Free)
Equine Joint Injections 
"Describes the approach by both synoviocentesis and arthroscopy to clinically important joints/sheaths/bursae in the horse." 
Available for: iOS  ($$$)
Equine Dermatology Equine Dermatology 
"Contains 166 labeled examples of equine skin disease. Includes disease overview, clinical signs, diagnosis, and treatment." 
Available for: iOS  ($$$)
Equine Radiography Equine Radiography 
"Provides instructions on taking diagnostic X-rays of the horse. Includes details on preparation, positioning, and an exposure guide." 
Available for: iOS  ($$)
Equine Reproductive Ultrasound Equine Reproductive Ultrasound 
"Comprehensive guide to equine female reproductive tract. Covers anestrus, transition, estrus, abnormal uterine involution, ovulation, diestrus, foal heat, and pregnancy." 
Available for: iOS  ($$)
Advanced Equine Reproductive Ultrasound 
"For vets already familiar with examining the equine female reproductive tract. Covers ovarian diseases, uterine diseases, twin diagnosis and reduction, and fetal sexing." 
Available for: iOS  ($$$)
Equine Drugs Equine Drugs 
"Covers 405 different drugs in 625 dose regimens. Includes dose calculator function and continuous infusion calculator." 
Available for: iOSAndroid ($$$$)
Equine Lab 
"The most complete list of equine lab reference ranges available. Includes values for synovial fluid, urine analysis, CSF, blood gas analysis, and hematology and biochemistry tests." 
Available for: iOS  ($$$)
Equine Techniques 
"Provides step-by-step instructions for 54 clinical techniques used in equine practice. Includes 269 photos and diagrams and 37 movies." 
Available for: iOS  ($$$)
Horse Anatomy: Equine 3D Horse Anatomy: Equine 3D 
"Explore the anatomy of the horse in 3D space. This app covers superficial landmarks, most muscles, the bones, and the organs." 
Available for: iOS | Android  ($)
Equine Veterinary Journal (EVJ) 
Read the latest issues of EVJ through Penn (instructions here, see 'Institutional Access'). Quarterly reactivation from campus required.
Available for: iOS Android (Free)

EXOTIC / WILDLIFE APPS

iBird Yard+ 
"Covers 231 different bird species including all the common birds found in backyard feeders in North America." 
Available for: iOS Android ($) 

FOOD ANIMAL APPS

VetGRAM  Vet's Guide to Residue Avoidance Management (VetGRAM) 
"Information resource for drugs approved in food-producing animal species. Includes approved drug uses, government restrictions, required withdrawal times and tolerances." 
Available for: iOS Android  (Free)
ThermalAid 
"A tool to identify, monitor, and reduce heat stress in cattle to improve welfare and performance." 
Available for: iOS (Free)

Interactive Veterinary iBooks from the University of Georgia

Select from over thirty titles created by Education Resources at the University of Georgia. All are free and are best viewed on an iOS device with a touchscreen Available for: iOS  (Free)

 

 

Note:

These apps have not been tested by Penn Vet Library staff. Have a favorite veterinary app? Please send your suggestions to vetlib@pobox.upenn.edu.

Thanks to The Vet GazetteVMD Technology and The University of Minnesota for suggesting some of these apps.