Skip to Main Content

African Studies - Research Guide: E-journals & News

E-journal Collections

Sabinet African Journals :
Ejournals from South Africa and other African countries.
• Social Sciences and Humanities
• Law
• Medicine and Health
• Education
• Religion
JSTOR African Studies e-journals (fulltext backfiles)
African Journal Archive (open source archive)

Current News Sources

BBC Monitoring International Reports
1997-present, via Newsbank Access World News.
Access World News (aka NewsBank)
Fulltext newspapers and other news sources. Includes several major South African newspaper backfiles:
• Sowetan (1981-2018)
• Business Day (1985-2019)
• Financial Mail (1959-2019)
• Sunday Times (1906-2019)

Africa Confidential and Africa-Asia Confidential
Africa Research Bulletin (Political, Social, Cultural) and
Africa Research Bulletin (Economic, Financial, Technical)
Africa Monitor: Southern Africa and North Africa
AllAfrica.com/Africa News Service via Nexis Uni (1991-present) and via AllAfrica.com (recent years only)
Pambazuka News
News Services from around Africa (UN ECA)
PressReader (formerly NewspaperDirect, Library PressDisplay) (latest 3 weeks of papers from Kenya, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, and other countries)
More News ...

Historic News Sources and Periodicals

Africa's Historic Newspapers (Readex)
Searches African Newspapers 1800-1924, series I & II (World Newspaper Archive), African Newspapers : The British Library Collection (1821-1900), and Rand Daily Mail (1902-1985).
East African Newspapers (Global Press Archive)
Digitized page images with fulltext for three newspapers:
• Daily Nation (Nairobi), 1962-2002.
• The Ethiopian Herald (Addis Ababa), 1943-1989.
• Daily Monitor (Kampala), 1993-2003.
CRL - Foreign Newspapers (use ILL-Books to request paper and microfilm)
Afrinul - Union list of African newspapers holdings in North American libraries
19th Century UK Periodicals: Empire
Church Missionary Society periodicals
National Geographic Magazine Archive 1888-1994
Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003
Colonial African Newspapers from the British Library

BBC monitoring : Summary of World Broadcasts, Essential Global Media, 1939-2001
(Digitization in progress, NewsBank).
English-language transcriptions of broadcast speeches, current affairs, political discussions, and social and cultural events worldwide, some complete but most as summaries.
FBIS Daily Reports 1941-1996.
English-language transcriptions of foreign current affairs broadcasts, prepared by the CIA for U.S. government agencies.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1995
English-language translations of journal articles, books, serials, and agricultural and industrial reports from around the world, prepared by the CIA for U.S. government agencies.

3420 Walnut Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206

Penn Libraries Home Search the Catalog

(215) 898-7555