Guides: ANCH 0101 Ancient Greece: Resources for the Term Paper

Begin your research by thinking about terms and synonyms, dates, names, concepts

Greece -- Civilization
Greek influence
Sparta
Athens
Spartan and Theban Supremacies
Greek Langauge
literacies
Phoenicians
Hellenism
slaves or slavery
helots
social conditions
laws
names of individuals
era designations

Get a comprehensive view of your particular area of interest through these scholarly handbooks and guides

These resources can help you come up with dates, names, additional vocabulary and variant spellings for your research. They can also help you develop a better understanding of your topic or give you ideas for comparisons and contrasts.

Oxford Classical Dictionary Online
An Oxford Research Encyclopedia, continuously updated.
Oxford Companion to Archaeology Online
Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization ONLINE
Provides an authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects, including articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome ONLINE
Encyclopedia of Ancient History ONLINE
Also in print: Call Number: Van Pelt Reference and Museum Library: D54 .E53 2013
13-volume reference work spanning late Bronze Age through the Seventh Century CE. Mediterranean, Near East, and Egypt.
Cambridge Ancient History
Volumes 2 through 7 of this 3rd edition of the 14 volume Cambridge Ancient History provide good coverage of Ancient Greece beginning with 1800 B.C.E.
Cambridge Companions
A little more difficult to navigate than the Oxford Handbooks -- you'll need to browse through titles or do key word searches
Brill's New Pauly
Encyclopedic entries on most aspects of the ancient world.

Browse the shelves or browse virtually in Franklin using the call number or range of call numbers

Copy the call number

Paste into the "call number" search

Browse books in Libraries' collections by call number

_____________________________________________

Connect to online journal articles and book chapters

If you are finding your references to journal articles or books from other books and articles--look them up in Articles+ or the Franklin Catalog.

If you are searching databases, look for the icon:

When Searching Google Scholar, look for "full text via Penn Text" or click on the and look for "Penntext"

Find journal articles, books, and book chapters through these featured Resources

Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World
Individual volumes on discrete topics, available in print and in some cases electronically. Located on the shelves in Van Pelt or via the Web. Coverage of literature, history, and culture.
JSTOR
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.
Catalog and Articles+
Search Franklin Catalog as well as many of our online journals, indexes, and collections all at once. Left hand column is Franklin Catalog, Right hand column is everything else. Click on the link to filter to refine your options. Need assistance? Contact your librarian.

L'Annee Philologique
Current scholarship in Classical studies including articles from over 1500 journals and chapters in thousands of books
Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to find articles located in JSTOR, Project Muse and other Penn resources. Using this link to Google Scholar will connect you with "Penn Text" so that you can make use of the library's many subscriptions.

Digital Loeb Classical Library
Digital Loeb provides fully searchable access to the entire bilingual Loeb library of critical editions of Greek and Latin texts. Click on the link for volumes to browse through all the Loeb volume titles, or search by author, title or keywords within the text through basic or advanced search boxes. Search by keyword will take you to links for a chapter or segment from a volume. There will be a link just above the text block of that chapter or segment that will take you to the entire volume. At the bottom of the text block you will see a box that allows you to searcher more deeply into the text you've selected.
Perseus Digital Library
This is a freely available, open resource with links to images, maps, secondary and primary resources. Perseus makes use of the Loeb library for many but not all of there primary texts. The Loeb is now digital (see above), and may be easier to use in some respects and more cumbersome in other respects.
Oxford Bibliographies Online Classics
An online resource to a wide array of published material. Focused on literary topics, this bibliography includes bibliographic essays covering Aeschylus to Xenophon with many new articles on the way.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Classics
Currently more than 35 handbooks with nearly 1,400 articles (chapters) covering as many discrete topics within broad fields within Classical Studies. This link can be slow to load.

Likely Call Numbers

Find your books on the shelves --Van Pelt, Fine Arts, Museum libraries

DE 46-DE 70: History of the Greco-Roman world--Antiquities. Civilization. Culture, archaeology
DF 10-DF 289: Ancient Greece
DF 75-DF 134: History of Greece--Ancient Greece--Antiquities. Civilization. Culture
DF 221.5: Troy
DF 215 Hellenic History

DE contains books for the "Greco-Roman World"
DF contains books for the Greece -- ancient and contemporary
DG contains books for Italy -- ancient and contemporary
HQ for women -- including the ancient world
PA for language and literature of
KL for law (Van Pelt and Biddle)
B for philosophy
JC for politics

** Use Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center, but also the Museum Library and the Fine Arts Library

My Librarian

Rebecca Stuhr

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center 218

215-898-5999

Subjects: Classical Studies

Looking for assistance with your research? Get in touch with your librarian:

Rebecca Stuhr,
Librarian for Classical Studies
stuhrreb @ pobox upenn edu
215-898-5999
Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center, 218

What if we don't have the book or journal article you need?

What if the book you are looking for is checked out or worse yet missing? You have access to the collections of all of the Ivy League libraries (Borrow Direct), all of the Pennsylvania and surrounding libraries (EZ Borrow), and in fact most of the libraries in this country (ILL). We have access to more than a billion journal and newspaper articles and book chapters, but we don't have access to all of them. What do you do when doesn't connect you to the article. It can be as easy as clicking the "get it" button:

To learn more about all of your options, visit a guide that describes EZ Borrow, Borrow Direct, ILL, and more.

Since the pandemic, we have extensively expanded our electronic book collection for Oxford, Cambridge, Bloomsbury, De Gruyter, Brill, and more.

Ancient Corinth

Old Corinth. The Ruins of Old Corinth. From the Collections
at the Library of Congress

citation management

For information on using different citation management tools connect to: http://guides.library.upenn.edu/citationmgmt

Access Penn's subscription to the Chicago Manuel Online

For good examples for a variety of formats see the Excelsior Owl formatting guides connect to: