General information - Botswana - General Information

Botswana Map

Gaborone's Weather

Currency Conversion

The U.S. and Botswana

Travel.state.gov: Botswana
Passport, visa, and vaccination requirements, currency restrictions, and travel alerts. Notes on safety and security and other travel-related matters.
U.S. Relations with Botswana / U.S. State Department
A quick overview of current U.S. policy interests regarding Botswana.
U.S. Embassy, Gaborone
Describes embassy services. Press releases and speeches include Ambassador Miller's informative address at a Gaborone global health seminar, March 2015.
U.S. State Department : Botswana
General U.S. policy information on Botswana, with links to other federal sources.
USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse reports on Botswana
DEC provides fulltext reports for USAID development activities in foreign countries.

Botswana in video and music

Alexander Street Press ethnographic videos
A sampler of videos on Botswana, including several Richard Werbner films on traditional healers and Lorna and James Marshall videos on the !Kung of the Namibia/Botswana borderlands.
Alexander Street Press ethnographic and world music

Botswana National Anthem

Fatshe leno la rona = This is our land

Botswana Current Affairs

EIU ViewsWire (via ProQuest)
Daily information on economic and political conditions in Botswana, from the Economist Intelligence Unit. The EIU seems to cover Botswana in two- or three-week batches.
AllAfrica.com + Africa News Services (via LexisNexis Academic)
Searchable fulltext coverage, 1991- . For quick hits from the latest headlines, see the AllAfrica.com RSS feed and website (right).
HINT! Start your search with this string:
GEOGRAPHIC(botswana)
Africa Confidential
A political newsletter with a business slant covering all of Africa since 1960. Fortnightly.

Botswana - Background

Africa Yearbook Online
Very good annual summary of political, social, and economic events in Botswana. Most recent issue covers 2013, with annual coverage starting with 2004.
"Tswana". Encyclopedia of world cultures
An ethnographic article about Botswana's largest cultural group, combining their traditional past and contemporary lives.
CIA World Factbook
A heavily-used overview of individual countries, with lots of statistical information.
Political Handbook of the World
Annual reference work, with country profiles describing government structure, political parties, and major news and media outlets.
World Bank : Data
Country-level demographic, economic, social, health, and government finance time series.
IMF Article IV Staff Reports
Very useful summaries of national economic policy and conditions, based upon meetings between IMF staff and national governments. Annual or less often.
Doing Business in Botswana - World Bank
Objectives measues of national and local regulations that enhance or constrain business activity.
U.S. Country Commercial Guides
U.S. Commercial Service guides on Botswana business conditions aimed at Americans doing business in Botswana.

Botswana - Health Conditions and Policy

WHO African Index Medicus - AIM (AFRO)
Describes medical articles from journals published in Africa that are often overlooked by the big US medical databases.
Alternate access through WHO Global Health Library adds other WHO regional indexes and the large WHOLIS database.
WHO Africa Health Observatory
Country health profiles, emphasizing WHO policy compliance. Links to WHO health statistics.
WHO Geneva HQ country pages
Quick reference for current health statistics, current national health policy formulated with WHO staff.
WHO Africa Regional Office country pages
Useful for current news on WHO country activities and for archived WHO country health policy documents.
DHS : Demographic & Health Surveys
USAID-funded program conducting national surveys of health conditions, health behaviors, and healthcare provision in cooperation with local national governments.
Public Health (research guide)
HSOC 10 - Health and Societies in Africa (research guide)
A handy collection of links to resources useful for learning about health issues in African countries, originally address to Penn HSOC 10 students assigned to studying individual countries.

Botswana government information

Ministry of Health. Botswana
See also the Health Reports and Publications web page.
Central Statistics Office. Botswana
Includes Demographic sector reports and Health sector reports.

EIU ViewsWire on Botswana

Students Abroad

Check out the Library Services for Penn Students Studying Abroad guide for more resources.

PennText Article Finder
Use this to access Penn-owned or Penn-subscribed e-books, specific articles in e-journals, and databases.
UPenn Proxy
Access Penn's e-resources wherever you go! Just add this bookmark to your desktop or mobile device.
Access to Restricted Library Resources through Proxy - Information
Learn how to use your PennKey and password to access Penn resources, such as databases and e-journals, off-campus.

Botswana News - AllAfrica.com

Botswana News - Mmegi

Botswana News - The Monitor

Botswana News Sources - Print at Penn Libraries

The Penn Libraries acquires two Gaborone newspapers and a popular magazine in print. Recent issues live at Van Pelt Library's Current Periodicals & Microtext Center, 1st floor east. We receive these newspapers through the Library of Congress Nairobi Field Office's cooperative acquisitions program: although we have current subscriptions, LC Nairobi ships only twice each year.

Botswana Guardian (weekly)
Daily News (daily, government-owned)
Kutlwano (monthly, government-owned)
A glossy magazine with cultural news, entertainment, and features; articles in Setswana or English.

Botswana - General Information: General information