Guides: CIS 573: Software Engineering / CIT 595: Digital System Organization & Design Course Guide: Finding Articles

Multidisciplinary and Citation Databases

These resources index literature from a broad range of disciplines but do not employ controlled vocabularies. They do, however, track citations to and from publications that may be used to find relationships in the literature and as an indicator of a publication's relative importance in a field.

Web of Science
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.

General Databases

Web of Science
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.

Discipline Specific Databases

The resources listed here provide indexing to publications from broad disciplines such as engineering, medicine, chemistry and physics. They employ controlled vocabularies, or subject headings, to organize the material.

Compendex
The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
PubMed
NLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.
SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts)
Chemical information: bibliographic, compound and reaction information. SciFinder searches reference records from Chemical Abstracts (CAPlus), MEDLINE, and Chemisches Zentralblatt; compound information from the CAS Registry file; and reaction information from the CASREACT file.

SPIE Digital Library
Articles and conference proceedings published by the International Society for Optical Engineering from 1990 - present. Covers optics, photonics, electronic and biomedical imaging, sensing, communications and fiber optics, micro- and nanotechnology.