The Classics and American Government: Overview

 
[Text from the Library of Congress, Portrait from the National Portrait Gallery]

The papers of the Madison, Jefferson, Washington, and Adams papers are all part of the series: American Founding Era Collection published digitally by the University of Virginia Press.

• The Papers of James Madison, Digital Edition - J.C.A. Stagg, editor Digital edition of the writings of James Madison.
• The Papers of Thomas Jefferson, Digital Edition - Mcclure and Looney, editors, The digital edition brings together 47 volumes of Jefferson's papers
• The Adams Papers, Digital Edition - C. James Taylor, editor. Digital edition includes: Diaries and Autobiography of John Adams, Adams Family Correspondence, and the Papers of John Adams
• The Papers of George Washinton, Digital Edition - E.G. Lengel, editor. This digital edition includes the papers, diaries, documents of George Washington from 1748-1799.
• The Pacificus Helvidius of 1793-1794 Debate--Van Pelt Library E313 .H23 2007. 
• ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online Search for texts by James Madison, or on particular topics
• 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Articles on America and the formation of the new government
• Gale Primary Sources Search ECCO, Burney Collection, and Making of Modern Law, and Making of the Modern World  together and take advantage of term frequency searches and term cluster or tiling visualizations.
• Eighteenth Century Journals Online, search "James Madison"
• The Legal Classics Library (From Hein Online)  presents more than 1200 works from some of the greatest legal minds in history, some not easily accessible in print. The collection focuses on constitutional law, political science, and other legal topics.
  • Also look for the “U.S. Presidential Library,” Historical archives for state statutes and reports, Early American Case Law, world constitutions and much more within Hein Online
• Facsimile Manuscripts at the Library of Congress
• Hathitrust.org -- find full text digital  facsimiles for materials that are in the public domain: books, government documents, and journals dating back to the dawn of the printing press.
• Newspapers
  • Early American Newspapers 1690-1876
  • Early American Imprints I 1639-1800
  • Early American Imprints II  1801-1819

Not finding what you are looking for or what you need is already checked out? Try using BorrowDirect or PALCI EZ Borrow. Check in with Rebecca for further assistance.

Rebecca Stuhr is the librarian specialists for Classical Studies. 
You can arrange  individual appointments or ask questions by email by contacting Rebecca at stuhrreb @ upenn.edu or click the button just below to find a time that works for you:

Schedule an appointment: Follow link select Humanities, and then scroll down to find my appointment calendar.