Overview - Critical Writing Program: Questions of Normalcy - Dilodovico Fall 2024

Scholarly Databases

These databases will help you find scholarly articles about your topic.

Articles+
Articles+ searches through many of our Penn-subscribed journals, and brings you results all in one place.

Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.
PubMed
NLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.

Education Source
Covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Search for databases by subject
JSTOR
more...less...
A selective collection of academic journals across most disciplines. JSTOR does not always provide the most journal issues. Rely on the other multidisciplinary databases in this list for up-to-date coverage.

Background Resources

International Encyclopedia of Behavioral & Social Sciences
Includes summaries of a wide range of research areas in the social sciences.
Dictionary of Psychology
Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning
Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts
Creativity & Innovation Management
Contemporary Feminist Theories

Why use this guide?

This Critical Writing Program guide will help you to:

Read a citation
Find books and articles using citations and keywords
Choose the best scholarly resources for your topic
Get personalized assistance!

How to Read a Citation

Book citations generally show a publisher and a city of publication. Book chapters will include the title of the chapter as well as the name of the book.

Article citations have a journal/periodical title in addition to the article title. They will usually also show a volume and issue number, and may show a day and month.

Using Citations to Find Articles

If you have a complete article citation, search Articles+ to find the full text of your article.

No luck? That doesn't mean we don't have access to the article - it could be in print! Try using the PennText Article Finder as a next step. You can find PennText on the Library homepage.

To find the full-text of an article, enter the journal name into the PennText article finder. A pop-up box will give you options to access the article online, in print, or the option to request through interlibrary loan.

Using Citations to Find Books

If your citation is a book, use Franklin, the Library catalog. Franklin will help you find the library in which the book is located, and the call number.

You can search for a specific book by title, author, or ISBN. You can also do a keyword or subject keyword search to find books on a particular topic.

Other important resources for finding books:

Keyword Searching

This document suggests a good method of crafting effective keyword searches:

Keyword search worksheet

Feminist, Queer, Crip

Feminist, Queer, Crip by Alison Kafer
ISBN: 9780253009418
Publication Date: 2013-05-16
In Feminist, Queer, Crip Alison Kafer imagines a different future for disability and disabled bodies. Challenging the ways in which ideas about the future and time have been deployed in the service of compulsory able-bodiedness and able-mindedness, Kafer rejects the idea of disability as a pre-determined limit. She juxtaposes theories, movements, and identities such as environmental justice, reproductive justice, cyborg theory, transgender politics, and disability that are typically discussed in isolation and envisions new possibilities for crip futures and feminist/queer/crip alliances. This bold book goes against the grain of normalization and promotes a political framework for a more just world.