Skip to main content

Information Resources in Chemical and Bio-molecular Engineering : Home

Identify literature in your field using databases

ENTREZ Cross database search - search across several NCBI databases to get a better idea of what is available 
Engineering Village - journal articles, conference papers, technical reports
Covers all disciplines of engineering. 
Scifinder (Chemical Abstracts)  - journal articles, conference papers, books, technical reports, patents, dissertations 
Deep coverage of chemical literature. 
Ovid - journal articles, conference papers, books
Coverage includes biology, biomedical research, biochemistry, biophysics, and bioengineering. 
PUBMED  - journal articles
Deep coverage of biomedical literature. 
Web Of Science - journal articles 
Covers all areas in the sciences, and allows for cited reference searching/discovery. 
EMBASE - a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing a wide variety of journals

Read what you've found

Link directly to the full-text articles from within the databases above (in some cases) using Full-Text or Penn Text links. 
Search using FindIt! to see if we have the journal or conference available online. 
Search Franklin, Penn Library's online catalog, to see if we have it in print. Request the article or book via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) if Penn doesn't have it.

Browse some books

Try call numbers in the TP range (works in all campus libraries) 
Look in the regular stacks, as well as the Reference collection 
If Penn Library doesn't have it, try BorrowDirect+ or Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

More information

Use the Library's E-Resources tool to Select by Interest: 
"Chemistry & Chemical Engineering". Then explore the tabs!

Librarian

Douglas McGee  
Assistant Director for Engineering and Physical Sciences Libraries  
217 Towne  
Email: dmcgee@seas.upenn.edu  
Phone: 215-898-8170  
AIM/MSN/Yahoo: PennEngSciDir