Skip to main content

Library Lounge: ENGL 200: Home

Library Lounge

My Librarian

Nick Okrent's picture
Nick Okrent
Contact:
Van Pelt Library, room 204
215-573-2217

ENGL 200 Personal Trainer

Test your literary research skills! The ENGL 200 Personal Trainer presents a series of four challenges. At the end of the series, the trainer recommends literary research videos for you to review based on any challenges completed incorrectly.

Literature in English Guide

The main guide for Literature in English links to primary, secondary, and background resources in various collection periods and subject areas associated with the English department.

Library Lounge Videos

Tracing Word Histories with the Oxford English Dictionary [5:23]

Access and use the Oxford English Dictionary to look up different senses of words and their histories.

 

 

An Introduction to Early English Books Online [6:39]

Access and navigate Early English Books Online (EEBO), a database of pre-1700 British texts and manuscripts. Use basic and advanced features, and learn about the database's scope and limitations.

 

 

Reception Study and Historical Newspapers [7:43]

Explore newspapers as a means to understand how readers and critics of a particular time read and received a work. Navigate the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.

 

 

Searching for Scholarly Articles [8:08]

Compare techniques for searching in a bibliographic database, such as MLA International Bibliography to searching within a full text database, such as Project Muse.

 

 

The Kislak Center: Guidelines for Readers [1:33]

Safely handle special collections content in the Kislak Center for Special Collections, Rare Books and Manuscripts.