Guides: EAS 4010/4020/5010/5020 Energy Resources: Resources for Literature Search

Engineering & Environmental

Compendex
Compendex covers journals and conference proceedings in all areas of engineering. Controlled vocabulary helps you to locate a wide range of information on your topic.
OSTI.gov
Provided by the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), this database contains bibliographic records for a variety of content (publications, data, software, patents) on energy and energy-related scientific and technical topics funded by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).
Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals
Find articles and books related to architecture, historic preservation, urban planning, and more. Use the PennText button to find full text.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Environment Abstracts is the principal bibliographic abstracting service for the scholarly, professional, and policy literature on the environment.

Public Policy & Administration

PAIS Index
Public Affairs Information Service indexes public affairs and policy issues worldwide related to a wide range of topics. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA)
67% of the more than 1500 monitored journals are published outside the United States, and there are nearly 500,000 records beginning in 1975. Some of the records have fulltext links and coverage includes all aspects of political science, as well as international relations and comparative politics.

Economics & Business

EconLit
Includes articles from over 550 international economic journals, covering accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor, demographics, modeling, economic theory, and planning.

ABI/Inform
In-depth coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, marketing, and product development.

Business Source Complete
Provides full-text scholarly and trade publications, including more than 1,800 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 6,000 journals. Includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU), Global Insight, ICON Group and Country Watch, and detailed company profiles from Datamonitor.

Citation Searching

These databases cover a wider range of topics than many of the others covered in this guide. They also allow for citation searching. You can use these to find out if and where a paper has been cited since its publication.

Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
Web of Science
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.
Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.

News and Statistics

OECD iLibrary
Source for statistics and publications from the International Energy Agency (IEA) and the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA).

EIA
U.S. Energy Information Administration. Key site for current U.S Energy statistics and reports.

NREL

U.S. National Renewable Energy Laboratory

E&E News
News site dedicated to Energy and Environmental Issues

Factiva
Searchable News database providing full text access to current NY Times and Wall Street Journal articles among other publications.

NYTimes.com WSJ.com WashingtonPost.com

The above are links to our catalog records for these three newspaper sites. To access, click on the "Publisher website" links in these records to set up accounts on these sites.

For Background Information

Franklin: Discovery
Search Penn's collections using Franklin, our online catalog, and Articles+, an application that provides a single search mechanism for much of our electronic resources. Click here for a guide to using Articles+

Knovel Engineering & Scientific Online Reference books
Online full-text access to nearly 800 leading Science and Engineering Reference works, including these collections: