It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
APA PsycInfoThe American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.
Sociological AbstractsCovers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.
GenderWatchGenderWatch, formerly titled Women 'R', contains 40,000 articles from more than 100 journals, magazines, newsletters, special reports, unpublished papers and conference proceedings devoted to gender and women's issues.
Family & Society Studies Worldwidethe most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues and meets the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. FSSW is an anthology of four database files providing access to more than 1,182,000 records.
POPLINEBibliographic citations with subject indexing and abstracts for the scholarly literature in population studies, family planning, and related subjects. Topics include family planning programs and technology, fertility, population law and policy, demography, maternal and child health, AIDS and other sexually transimitted diseases, reproducive health programs, women in development, primary health care communication, and population and the environment.
PubMed PlusNLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.
CINAHL/ NursingAuthoritative coverage of nursing and allied health literature.
Google ScholarAccess to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
EBSCO MegaFILEGeneral, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Recommended Historical Databases & Archives
Archives of Sexuality & Gender : LGBTQ history and culture since 1940With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS.
A searchable collection of primary documents and images on a wide range of topics pertaining to U.S. women's history. The new Scholar's Edition features enhanced content and search tools that make it ideal for research and scholarship. It includes the Basic Edition plus 75,000 additional pages of previously inaccessible data and statistics from the publications of local and state commissions on women since 1963. These publications embrace an astonishing range of issues, employing pamphlets, posters, personal narratives, advice literature, training guides, interviews, and other ephemera that provide snapshots of women's struggle for equality over time and across regions. The items are rich in personal testimony, chronologies, milestones, biographies, laws and legal challenges, recommendations, training instruction, and self-help guides. The Scholar's Edition is a must for anyone interested in in-depth research in US History, Women's Studies, and Sociology.
The Scholar's Edition will also include an indexed, searchable online edition of the highly respected research tool, Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary (5 vols, 1971-2004), fully integrated into the broader Women and Social Movements database. For the first time, the rich resources of this biographical dictionary will be available to scholars online, employing the powerful research tools pioneered by Alexander Street.
Women's Magazine Archive IAn archival resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines, scanned in full resolution color. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century to 2005. Titles include Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Better Homes and Gardens, Parents Magazine, and Chatelaine.
America: History and LifeA bibliographic database indexing books, book chapters, and over 1,800 journals relating to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Sex Smart FilmsSexSmartFilms.com is a database of streaming videos promoting sexual literacy with more than 400 films from nearly 50 different countries.
Academic Video Online (AVON)Feature film, documentaries, news footage, newsreels, and a range of primary source content. Includes film from the Criterion Collection, PBS, BBC, and Academy, Emmy, Peabody award winners. Subject areas include anthropology, business, health, and history.