Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal articles can help you delve deeper into your topic than books and encyclopedias. Review articles will give you an overview of the state of a field over a period of time (pay attention to the publication date; they go out-of-date quickly). Research articles tell you exactly how a scientist performed his or her experiments and interpreted the results.
These resources help you find journal articles in various fields related to your projects.
This database indexes journals and conference proceedings in all areas of engineering. Controlled vocabulary helps you to locate a wide range of information on your topic.
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
NLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
More Information About Journal Articles
So, you've found an article in a database and now you want to read the full text. Look for the PennText link or button in the article's detailed record.
Click on PennText to open a page with options for obtaining the full-text (see below for a screen capture).
- If it is available online, there will be a link you can follow to the journal.
- If it's not available online, follow the second link to check the Franklin Catalog to see if it is available in print.
- If it's not found in Franklin, use the third option to submit a request for the item through Interlibrary Loan.