Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Companions and Handbook Series
A number of publishers have series of what are called "companions" or "handbooks." These books take a topic within a large field and provide a range of articles covering multiple aspects of that topic. We purchase many of these companions as e-books but some are only available in print. Below you'll find either a link directly to the series or links to browse through the various titles in a series through the Franklin catalog. You'll find the link to an individual e-book in the Franklin catalog.
Subject Phrases and Key Terms
Databases for Articles, Chapters, Books
The standard database for research in the broad area of Classical Studies. It indexes the current scholarship from over 1,500 journals and as well as books, edited volumes and conference papers.
Try incorporating a "proximity search" into your JSTOR advanced search. Working with two words within quotation marks, a tilda, and a number that represents how close the two words should be together: "persia war"~25 Using "proximity" will help make your JSTOR search more precise. Contains about 50 Classics journals--for most titles, about 3-5 years behind the current issue.
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%).
The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains nearly 200 journals, and over 75,000 articles including articles published since 2012.
This database indexes a wide range of humanities journals providing their most recently published articles. Only about 30 Classical Studies journals are indexed in this databse, but also about 50 archaeology journals.
Digital Loeb provides fully searchable access to the entire bilingual Loeb library of critical editions of Greek and Latin texts. Click on the link for volumes to browse through all the Loeb volume titles, or search by author, title or keywords within the text through basic or advanced search boxes. Search by keyword will take you to links for a chapter or segment from a volume. There will be a link just above the text block of that chapter or segment that will take you to the entire volume. At the bottom of the text block you will see a box that allows you to searcher more deeply into the text you've selected. Online access to the ancient historians.
Oxford Bibliographies Online Classics
An online resource to a wide array of published material. Focused on literary topics, this bibliography includes bibliographic essays covering Aeschylus to Xenophon with many new articles on the way.
Reference Titles: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias can be very specialized and may help you with vocabulary, names, dates, variant spellings, concepts, maps, and more.
Oxford Classical Dictionary 4th Ed.
Provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
Ancient Greece and Rome
Provides a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
Encyclopedia of Ancient History. PRINT
This 13 volume encyclopedia provides definitions and explanations of the key people, places, and events in ancient history. It spans the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE and covers the entire ancient Mediterranean world including the Near East and Egypt. Includes statistical data and maps.
Rome's Revolution: Death of the Republic and Birth of the Empire by
Call Number: Van Pelt Library DG254 .A47 2015
Publication Date: 2015
The City in the Classical and Post-Classical World by
Call Number: Van Pelt Library HT114 .C526 2014
Publication Date: 2014
This volume examines the evolving role of the city and citizenship from classical Athens through fifth-century Rome and medieval Byzantium.
Drop in Hours in Classical Studies Lounge
Unfortunately during the current pandemic crisis, I am unable to meet with you in person. Please see the box above to make an appointment with me for a zoom consultation or to communicate via email. I will be happy to work to find a time that works for you in your time zone. Generally, I can be available from 7:00 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. eastern time.
Recent Books on Ancient Empire
Makers of Ancient Strategy: Ffrom the Persian Wars to the Fall of Rome by
Call Number: Van Pelt Library U29 .M26 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Contested Monarchy: integrating the Roman Empire in the fourth century AD by
Call Number: Van Pelt Library DG312 .C57 2015
Publication Date: 2014
Contested Monarchy reappraises the wide-ranging and lasting transformation of the Roman monarchy between the Principate and Late Antiquity.
A History of the Ancient near East, Ca. 3000-323 BC by
Call Number: University Museum Library DS62.2 .V34 2016
Publication Date: 2015