Administered since 2000, the NAVLE consists of 360 clinically relevant multiple-choice questions and is a requirement for licensure to practice veterinary medicine in all licensing jurisdictions in the U.S. and Canada. Developed in collaboration with the National Board of Medical Examiners® (NBME®), the NAVLE is offered at Prometric computer testing centers throughout North America and certain overseas sites (from the International Council for Veterinary Assessment 2022-2023 Annual Report).
Many of the resources in this guide are based on recommendations from annual reports prepared by the Student American Veterinary Medical Association (SAVMA)
Many student prepare by subscribing to VetPrep or Zuku Review in the months before the test and/or periodically testing their knowledge by taking the ICVA Self Assessments.
The Small Animal Veterinary Nerdbook by
First published in 1994 as a guide to help veterinary students survive clinics with more grace, poise, and knowledge than ever before, The Small Animal Veterinary Nerdbook is now a classic for veterinary students.
The Merck Veterinary Manual by
The Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM) covers all domesticated species and diseases in veterinary medicine worldwide. This completely revised and redesigned new edition of the veterinary classic uses a two-column format and color throughout for easy-to-read text and tables. Hundreds of color images enhance and illustrate the text. In addition to extensive revisions and updates, this edition includes a new section on public health and zoonoses, expanded coverage of fish and aquaculture, new chapters on backyard poultry, toxicologic workplace hazards, smoke inhalation, and additional coverage of numerous new and emerging topics in veterinary medicine. . Completely revised and redesigned in a two-column, easy-to-read format with color throughout . New section on Public Health which includes a new public health primer that covers One Health, public health functions and agencies, epidemiologic principles and study types, disease outbreak investigations, food safety, and a brief discussion of public health law . Revised and expanded information on fish, aquatic systems, and aquaculture as well as poultry, pet birds, rabbits, rodents, reptiles, and amphibians . New chapters on backyard poultry and Tasmanian devils, toxicologic hazards in the workplace for veterinarians, smoke inhalation, scorpion bites, spider flies, and xylitol toxicity . Extensively revised chapters on heart disease, diagnostic imaging, pharmacology and drug resistance, wound management, equine emergency medicine, management of the neonate and neonatal encephalopathy, wound management, equine arboviral encephalomyelitis, skeletal disorders and myopathies of poultry, and chlamydiosis . Important changes to the Behavior section such as inclusion of the most recent diagnostic techniques, methods and treatment of behavioral disorders in dogs, cats, and other domesticated animals, expanded coverage of the human-animal bond, service and assistance animals, and new material on self-care for veterinarians
Anatomy of Domestic Animals by 
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult by
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: Canine and Feline, 7th Edition provides up-to-date information on feline and canine disease in the familiar, popular, and trusted 5-Minute Veterinary Consult format. This reference puts all the necessary information regarding common diseases and conditions in dogs and cats at the reader's fingertips. Covering 845 specific disorders, Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult is the most comprehensive and timely reference on canine and feline medicine available today.
Canine Anatomy by
The National Veterinary Medical Series (NVMS) is an effective, economical system for learning and review. Basic and clinical veterinary sciences are outlined in a practical format that enables you to master large amounts of information in a limited amount of time. The books in the NVMS help you prepare for National Boards and the Clinical Competency Test and are excellent resources for problem-based learning.
Clinical Veterinary Advisor by
The indispensable resource for the busy small animal practitioner. Providing easy-to-use, cutting-edge information, Côté's Clinical Veterinary Advisor: Dogs and Cats, 4th Edition is like six books in one?- with concise coverage of diseases and disorders; procedures and techniques; differentials, mnemonics, and lists; laboratory tests; clinical algorithms; and a drug compendium. UPDATED! Videos demonstrate important findings that static images cannot convey, such as characteristic lameness and ultrasound findings. UPDATED! Tech Tips cover more than 850 diseases and disorders that are especially relevant to the technician's daily experience in the clinic. UPDATED! 200 customizable printable client education handouts are included online and available in English or Spanish. Highly referenced diseases and disorders presented in alphabetical order makes sought-out information easy to retrieve. Extensive cross referencing throughout the text offers quick access to all pertinent information. Hundreds of expert international contributing authors ensure the information is the most accurate and up-to-date. SIX-BOOKS-IN-ONE offers invaluable content, such as diseases and disorders; procedures and techniques; differential diagnosis; laboratory tests; clinical algorithms; and drug formulary. Pedagogical icons reflect content to alert readers to unique elements within each monograph. Vibrant website with searchable content and extensive bonus material enhances information from the print book. NEW! Expert Consult website with fully searchable eBook allows quick identification of any topic and its related information in the six different sections of the book. NEW! Fully revised and updated content plus dozens of all-new chapters, including: Hyperadrenocorticism (food-related) Meningoencephalitis of unknown etiology Hypercalcemia (feline idiopathic) Hops toxicosis Movement disorders Heart murmur (incidental finding) Polyneuropathy Urethral occluder placement Fecal transplant Bronchoalveolar lavage (blind) NEW! Informed client consent handouts provide simple explanations of procedures and denote foreseeable risks in both English and Spanish).
Duncan and Prasse's Veterinary Laboratory Medicine by
Duncan and Prasse's Veterinary Laboratory Medicine: Clinical Pathology, Fifth Edition offers a comprehensive overview of hematology, hemostasis, clinical chemistry, urinalysis, cytology, and reference intervals in a highly accessible outline format. With information on all major domestic species, the text is designed for the reader to quickly find answers to clinical questions. Taking a problem-solving approach to the interpretation of laboratory data, this book includes clinical cases to illustrate the concepts of laboratory data interpretation, with tables and key words to aid readers in locating and applying information. The fifth edition has been fully revised to reflect the latest knowledge, diagnostic methods, and practices in veterinary laboratory medicine.
Guide to Bovine Clinics by 
Guide to Equine Clinics by 
Guide to Small Animal Clinics by 
Handbook of Pig Medicine by
Handbook of Pig Medicine provides the knowledge needed to recognize, diagnose, treat and control pig diseases in practice. The book includes high quality illustrations which, where appropriate, complement written descriptions of clinical signs. It deals with medical, surgical and reproductive problems in pigs. Clinical examination of the individual pig and the investigation of herd problems are covered in detail, along with a study on pig population medicine. Each body system is considered with special attention to clinical signs, diagnosis and treatment. Additionally, chapters in the book discuss obstetrics, pig haematology and biochemistry as well as differential diagnosis. Other topics discussed, include organic and outdoor pigs; problems of the pet pig, sampling, euthanasia and post-mortem examination.
Large Animal Internal Medicine by
Utilize a problem-oriented approach to the diagnosis of diseases of horses, cattle, sheep, and goats. Large Animal Internal Medicine, 6th Edition covers the diagnosis and management of disease in both ruminant and equine internal medicine. As the first veterinary internal medicine text to use a problem-based approach, it offers discussions of over 150 clinical signs and manifestations, as well as comprehensive coverage of laboratory and diagnostic testing. New to this edition is a versatile online reference platform and coverage of conditions that exist in Europe, Central and South America, Australia, and New Zealand. In addition, thoroughly revised and updated content includes new vaccines and vaccination protocols; the most current laboratories for DNA, genetic, and PCR testing; and colostrum supplements and replacers. It's everything you need to stay up to date with the latest information on preventing and treating disease in large animals. Discussions of over 150 clinical signs or manifestations of disease provide you with a problem-based approach to diagnosis based on what you've observed and what laboratory tests reveal. Causes of Presenting Signs boxes offer quick access to the common, less common, and uncommon diseases associated with manifestations or signs of disease. Causes of Abnormal Laboratory Values boxes highlight the possible interpretations of abnormalities in clinical chemistry, hematology, blood proteins, and clotting tests. More than 200 expert authors contribute information in their areas of expertise for the most current, authoritative information on each topic. NEW! Expert Consult platform provides a versatile digital resource including bonus content, useful references, and videos to meet the needs of practicing equine and large animal veterinarians. NEW! Global conditions of importance are covered, including those previously not discussed, that exist in Europe, Central and South America, Australia, and New Zealand.' NEW! Coverage of emerging and re-emerging diseases includes the new pathogen discovery. NEW! Assessment of vaccination status and susceptibility to infection discusses how antibody titers can predict protection for some pathogens. NEW! Description of epigenetics and metagenomics provides detailed coverage of these emerging areas of interest. NEW! Table of zoonoses obtained from large animals includes symptoms and disinfection needs. NEW! Videos demonstrate how to perform ultrasound imaging on an equine and cow abdomen clearly showing where to position the probe, and what depth to use for scans of the kidneys, liver, and bowel. NEW! Coverage of genetic disorders, Hydrocephalus in Fresians and Pulmonary hypoplasia with Anasarca in Dexter cattle help you to treat these disorders. NEW! Extensively updated content clarifies the latest research and clinical findings on the West Nile Virus, therapeutic drug monitoring, muscle disorders, GI microbiota, the genetic basis for Immune-mediated myositis in Quarter Horses, discoveries in antimicrobial drugs, anthelmintic, and vaccines, and more!
McCurnin's Clinical Textbook for Veterinary Technicians by 
Pharmacology by
The National Veterinary Medical Series (NVMS) is aneffective, economical system for learning and review. Basic andclinical veterinary sciences are outlined in a practical formatthat enables you to master large amounts of information in alimited amount of time. The books in the NVMS help you prepare for the National Boardsand the Clinical Competency Test and are excellent resources forproblem-based learning.
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook by
10th edition. Also online as Plumb's Veterinary Drugs
Small Animal Internal Medicine by
With hundreds of images, step-by-step procedures, and a practical clinical emphasis, Small Animal Internal Medicine, 6th Edition offers the foundation and tools you need to properly recognize, diagnose, and treat small animals with common internal conditions. Each section of the text takes a problem-oriented approach that begins with a discussion of clinical signs, diagnostic recommendations, and techniques; and then moves to therapeutic considerations and management.
Small Animal Surgery by
From basic procedures like spays, castrations, and declaws to advanced surgeries like craniotomy, vertal slots, and lung lobectomy, Fossum's Small Animal Surgery, 5th Edition is the go-to, full-color guide for everything that general veterinarians and vet students need to know about both soft tissue and orthopedic surgery. Five editors bring their expert perspective as they discuss the latest advances in key areas such as imaging modalities, regenerative medicine, minimally invasive surgery, and neurology.
Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine by
Ensure you have ongoing access to the most reliable veterinary information available! The Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine, 8th Edition remains the internationally acclaimed "gold standard" in veterinary medicine with its unparalleled coverage of pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases affecting dogs and cats. This one-of-a-kind resource includes the latest information on topical issues such as clinical genomics, coexisting cardiac and renal diseases, minimally-invasive interventional procedures, distinguishing behavioral disorders from neurologic disease, feeding tube placement, evidence-based medicine, differentiating intoxications from nontoxicological illness, and so much more. Plus, it offers a select library of 517 expert clinical videos that enable you to stop, rewind, and watch as many times as you need in order to understand the characteristic clinical sign, clinical procedure, or diagnostic imaging series. This all-new edition also combines the open-page access of a two-volume printed textbook with the enhanced functionality of an Expert Consult website - letting you search and find more efficiently. It''s the surefire way to stay at the forefront of veterinary care! Fully searchable online text offers quick access to the most trusted information in the field. Complete library of over 500 original clinical videos you can believe in. Instead of fruitless YouTube searches, each video expertly breaks down veterinary procedures and important signs of diseases and disorders that are difficult or impossible to understand from written descriptions alone. In-depth coverage of timely issues includes expert explanations on topics such as the genome, clinical genomics, euthanasia, innocent heart murmurs, hyperbaric medicine, home prepared and raw diets, obesity, botulism, artificial pacing of the heart, and cancer vaccines. Thousands of references accessible from the printed book with the click of a QR code. 256 all-new client information sheets can be downloaded, customized, and printed as client handouts. 214 new and updated clinical algorithms aid in disease identification and decision-making. Exclusive access to Expert Consult Online website offers the complete library of original video clips, heart sounds, the full collection of client information sheets, and hyperlinking of references to their source abstracts in PubMed. NEW! In-depth coverage of the latest information and trends in small animal internal medicine. Completely new section on minimally-invasive interventional procedures includes techniques for treating respiratory, cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, urologic/nephrologic, and neoplastic disorders. 17 new chapters address the major clinicopathologic abnormalities that occur in canine and feline laboratory testing. Completely new section on management of mutually-antagonistic comorbidities spotlights concurrent cardiac and renal disease, concurrent infection in patients requiring immunosuppression, and concurrent diabetes mellitus and corticosteroid-dependent disease. Expert explanations on topics such as evidence-based medicine, distinguishing behavioral disorders from medical neurologic disorders, blood transfusion techniques, hyperadrenocorticism (Cushing''s disease), chronic kidney disease, respiratory and inhalant therapy, and many more. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Toxicology by
The National Veterinary Medical Series (NVMS) is an effective, economical system for learning and review. Basic and clinical veterinary science are outlined in a practical format that enables you to master large amounts of information in a limited amount of time. The book in the NVMS helps you to prepare for National Boards and the Clinical Competency Test and are excellent resources for problem-based learning.
National Veterinary Boards (NBE) (NVB) (1 Vol. ) by
The Admission Test Series prepares students for entrance examinations into college, graduate and professional school as well as candidates for professional certification and licensure. The National Veterinary Boards (NBE)(NVB) Passbook® prepares you by sharpening the skills and abilities necessary to succeed on your upcoming entrance exam. It provides hundreds of questions and answers in the areas that will likely be covered on your upcoming exam, including but not limited to: anatomy; physiology; parasitology; bacteriology; hygiene; medicine and surgery; and more.
National Veterinary Boards (NBE) (NVB) Part II - Pharmacology, Therapeutics, Parasitology, Hygiene by
The Admission Test Series prepares students for entrance examinations into college, graduate and professional school as well as candidates for professional certification and licensure. The National Veterinary Boards (NBE)(NVB) - Part II - Pharmacology, Therapeutics, Parasitology, Hygiene Passbook® prepares you by sharpening the skills and abilities necessary to succeed on your upcoming entrance exam.
National Veterinary Boards (NBE) (NVB) Part III - Physical Diagnosis, Medicine, Surgery by
The Admission Test Series prepares students for entrance examinations into college, graduate and professional school as well as candidates for professional certification and licensure. The National Veterinary Boards (NBE)(NVB) - Part III Passbook® prepares you by sharpening the skills and abilities necessary to succeed on your upcoming entrance exam. It provides hundreds of questions and answers in the areas that will likely be covered on your upcoming exam, including but not limited to: physical diagnosis; medicine; surgery; and more.
North American Veterinary Licensing Examination comprehensive review (6 audio discs) by
NAVLE Comprehensive Review. Audio recording on six audio discs.
