Guides: PAH Evidence Based Practice : Databases

Databases to Search for Evidence-Based Practice

Sources for Primary Literature

Use these tools to search for primary studies. Utilize filters to find study types that provide best evidence; to narrow your results by patient age or gender, date or language.

PubMed
To limit your PubMed search to the best evidence-producing studies - use Clinical Queries. This specialized search is intended for clinicians and has built-in search filters. After completing a topic search, you can also use the Limits tab and choose types of articles such as Meta-Analysis, Randomized Controlled Trial, Practice Guideline, etc.
EMBASE
After you have run a search, click on the EBM tab. You will then be able to limit your results to Cochrane Reviews, Systematic Reviews, Meta-Analysis, Controlled Clinical Trials, or Randomized Controlled Trials.
CINAHL/ Nursing
To limit your search to evidence-based literature, scroll down the search page and either select appropriate EBM type studies (SR, controlled trial, etc.) from the Publication Type box OR in the Special Interest box, select Evidence Based Practice OR click Evidence-Based Practice box on the right hand column.

Evidence Based Content Resources

OVID Evidence-Based Health Collection
Includes the following databases:
- The KSR Evidence database includes systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and certain health technology assessment (HTA) reports published since 2015 and currently contains over 25,000 critical appraisals and over 200,000 systematic reviews
- EGT is a comprehensive collection of evidence-based clinical practice guideline content, providing summaries and appraisals (TRUST Scorecards) of guidelines developed from systematic reviews.
- ECRI’s TRUST Scorecards identify how the guidelines adhere to the National Academy of Medicine (Institute of Medicine) standards for trustworthiness.
- Evidence-Based Practice, a monthly journal focused on providing answers to some of the most important and common questions derived from patient care experiences and the newest practice changing medical literature. Lippincott Solution’s team of clinical experts have reviewed, condensed, and extracted key information from lengthy practice guidelines and put them into streamlined, comprehensive guideline summaries.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database
The JBI EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across five publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, and Systematic Review Protocols.