Skip to main content

People on War datasets, documentation: Home

The People on War project

People on War 1999 was an International Committee of the Red Cross worldwide consultation on the rules of war conducted by Greenberg Research, Inc. for the International Committee of the Red Cross. The People on War project is "a worldwide consultation of common people. Civilians and combattants alike will be asked, how they view their experience in war, what basic rules they expect to apply in war, why these rules sometimes break down and what their expectations for the future are." (People on War Project mission statement, December 15, 1988)

Survey interviews with civilians and combatants in 12 countries that were either experiencing situations of armed conflict or armed violence or suffering the aftermath and 5 other countries. Surveys were conducted in 1999 by local partners and were part of a larger research program including focus group interviews and in-depth face-to-face interviews.

This guide presents the study's documentation and microdata datasets for the individual country surveys. The documentation and datasets were obtained from SIDOS, the Swiss data archive.

Two subsequent ICRC consultations were conducted to update People on War:

  • Our World. Views from the Field / Ipsos for the ICRC. 2009. 8 countries: Afghanistan, Colombia, Georgia, Haiti, Liberia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Lebanon, Philippines.
  • People on War 2016 / WIN/Gallup International for the ICRC. June-September 2016. 17,000-plus respondents in 16 countries: Afghanistan, China, Colombia, France, Iraq, Israel, Nigeria, Palestine, Russia, South Sudan, Switzerland, Syria (Syrians in Lebanon), Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Yemen.

Microdata datasets for these later studies are archived at FORS, the Swiss data archive.

Overview documentation and report literature

The People on War global report and other overview materials have been compressed into PKZIP-format archive files:

The ICRC website provides downloadable copies of the Global Report, the Parallel report (local-partner surveys were conducted in Colombia, Philippines, and Bosnia-Herzegovina, where the ICRC also had conducted a national consultation and survey, to identify bias in the ICRC consultation and survey.), and country-level reports:

Country data, documentation, and report literature

Countries were selected using these criteria: geography (global reach); type of conflict (international conflicts and civil wars, territorial, ethnic and ideological types of armed conflicts); and time period (Cold War and post-Cold War). This list of countries was then evaluated against political and security considerations to determine the feasibility of conducting the consultation in that country.

Each country's data sets, documentation, and report literature have been compressed into a single PKZIP-format archive file. Typically, this archive contains the following directory structure:

  • Country report in English and French (MS Word documents)
  • Questionnaires directory
    • Local-language questionnaires (PDF documents)
    • English-language questionnaires (MS Word RTF documents)
  • Data-file directory
    • SPSS directory
      • Data file (SPSS sav and por files)
    • SAS directory
      • Data dictionary (ASCII text document)
      • Data file (SAS transport file)
  • Context documents directory
    • English-language and French-language directories (all PDF documents)
      • Country report
      • Annual reports
      • Demographic studies
      • Other materials
      • NB. Report literature for each language may not be identical.

Individual country dataset + report archives

  • Afghanistan (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: afghan population of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: birthday criterion.
    Data collection: July 3-July 13 1999.
    Number of cases: 995. Number of variables: 126.
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of Bosnia of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: birthday criterion.
    Data collection: February 15-March 5 1999.
    Number of cases: 2980. Number of variables: 133.
    The number of cases is higher as usual because there has been two surveys, one conducted by the ICRC personnel, one by the local partner of GRI.
  • Cambodia (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of Cambodia of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: birthday criterion / kish grid.
    Data collection: September 1-September 16 1999.
    Number of cases: 1009. Number of variables: 130
  • Colombia (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of Colombia of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: birthday criterion.
    Data collection: November 8-December 24 1999.
    Number of cases: 1857. Number of variables: 132.
    The number of cases is higher as usual because there has been two surveys, one conducted by the ICRC personnel and one by the local partner of GRI.
  • El Salvador (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of El Salvador of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: birthday criterion.
    Data collection: May 22-May 30 1999.
    Number of cases: 1001. Number of variables: 86.
  • Georgia-Abkhazia (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of Georgia of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: birthday criterion.
    Data collection: Georgia: May 20-July 15 1999/ Abkhazia: May 26 to June 15 1999.
    Number of cases: 1033. Number of variables: 132.
  • Israel and Occupied Territories (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of Israel and occupied territories of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: birthday criterion.
    Data collection: Israel: June 4-July 20 1999/ Occupied territories: June 6-9 1999.
    Number of cases: 928. Number of variables: 164.
  • Lebanon (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of Lebanon of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: Not specified.
    Data collection: March 26-April 24 1999.
    Number of cases: 1000. Number of variables: 155.
  • Nigeria (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of Nigeria of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: Kish grid.
    Data collection: June 5-June 30 1999.
    Number of cases: 1000. Number of variables: 128.
  • Philippines (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of the Philippines of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: Kish grid.
    Data collection: January 24-February 6 1999.
    Number of cases: 2100. Number of variables: 154.
    The number of cases is higher as usual because there has been two surveys, one conducted by the ICRC personnel and the other by the local partner of GRI.
  • Somalia (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of Somalia 15 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: Not specified.
    Data collection: April 1999.
    Number of cases: 1005. Number of variables: 168.
  • South Africa (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: South African population of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: not specified.
    Data collection: April 14-May 21 1999.
    Number of cases: 1500. Number of variables: 149.

National public opinion surveys were conducted in four of the five permanent member countries of the United Nations Security Council to see how the publics in these superpower countries view war and, despite its changing character, the prospects of preserving the concept of limits in war. A survey was also undertaken in Switzerland.

  • France (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of France of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: birthday criterion.
    Data collection: 1999.
    Number of cases: 755. Number of variables: 89.
  • Russia (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of Russia of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: not specified.
    Data collection: March-May 1999.
    Number of cases: 1000. Number of variables: 104.
  • Switzerland (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of Switzerland of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: birthday criterion.
    Data collection: July 2-July 22 1999.
    Number of cases: 751. Number of variables: 98.
  • UK (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of UK of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: birthday criterion.
    Data collection: March-May 1999.
    Number of cases: 750. Number of variables: 105.
  • USA (PKZIP archive)
    Analyzed unit: population of USA of 18 years and older.
    Selection of respondents: birthday criterion.
    Data collection: March-May 1999.
    Number of cases: 1009. Number of variables: 98.

Librarian & Coordinator of Social Sciences Collections

Lauris Olson's picture
Lauris Olson
Contact:
University of Pennsylvania Libraries
203 Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
University of Pennsylvania
3420 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
U.S.A.
215-898-0119
Website