Scholarly Articles & News - WH 2990 / 3990 - JWS/WRS Research Seminar

Search the Business FAQ

Catalog & Articles+

You can also use the Catalog to search for scholarly articles. Run a keyword search in the default search box, then look for the Your search found results in Articles+ box amidst the list of results. Articles+ is a multidisciplinary search engine that retrieves results from across the libraries' collection of databases and aggregates them in one results list.

General Databases for Scholarly Articles

EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
JSTOR
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.
Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
Web of Science
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.

Business Databases

Business Source Complete
Business-focused academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as some company, industry and market reports.
ABI/Inform
Aggregates content from thousands of business and management publications worldwide, including scholarly and trade publications.
EconLit
Covers accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor, demographics, modeling, economic theory, and planning. Primarily English language, some foreign language publications included.
PAIS Index
Bibliographic citations (1915-) with indexing on contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide related to a wide range of topics.

Full-text Newspapers & Magazines

American Historical Periodicals, 1740-1949
Business Week Archives, 1929-2000
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020
Factiva
Provides access to over 32,000 sources of national and international news
New York Times (1851-2019), ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text of the New York Times. News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements are all searchable and available for viewing and printing.
Full-text of the New York Times. News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements are all searchable and available for viewing and printing. Through the ProQuest interface, a searchable ASCII text underlies each article and page image in ProQuest Historical Newspapers (although the ASCII text is not available for printing or emailing). Users can search by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed bibliographic information for the articles retrieved including article title, publication, issue date, author, page, etc. Articles are emailed in pdf format.
Newsbank Access World News
Searchable fulltext of international and U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers. Coverage for current issues (i.e., yesterday in most cases) with extensive backfiles.
Wall Street Journal (1889-2011), ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text of the Wall Street Journal. News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, financial quotes, and advertisements are all searchable and available for viewing and printing.
Full-text of the Wall Street Journal. News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, financial quotes, and advertisements are all searchable and available for viewing and printing. Through the ProQuest interface, a searchable ASCII text underlies each article and page image in ProQuest Historical Newspapers (although the ASCII text is not available for printing or emailing). Users can search by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed bibliographic information for the articles retrieved including article title, publication, issue date, author, page, etc. Articles are emailed in pdf format.

Financial Times, 1888-2016

InterLibrary Loan (ILL) & Document Delivery

If you are unable to find a book or article that you need through the Penn Libraries, you can use one of our InterLibrary Loan systems to search beyond the holdings in Franklin and try and locate it at another library: Click here for access to BorrowDirect+, EZBorrow, and InterLibrary Loan.

As Wharton students, you are also eligible for our Document Delivery services. For more information on DocDel, click here.

Librarian

Matthew Trowbridge

Email Me

Contact:

Lippincott Library
3420 Walnut St., Room 243.3
Philadelphia, PA 19104

215-898-6729

Subjects: Entrepreneurship

WH 2990 / 3990 - JWS/WRS Research Seminar