It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide highlights some of the library resources to assist in your research of Air Pollution.
At 11:05 a.m. HST. Photograph from the Jaggar Museum, Hawai`i Volcanoes National Park, captures an ash plume rising from the Overlook crater. Ash falling from the plume can be seen just to the right side (and below) the plume.
Location Taken: Kīlauea Volcano, HI, US
Full-text database for the scholarly, professional, and policy literature on agriculture and the environment. It titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 880,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 13,000 records.
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
Protecting Clean Air by Sarah J. SimonThis book presents an overview of air quality, emission sources, criteria pollutants, greenhouse gases, control programs, and the impact of pollution on the atmosphere and global systems. . The book will guide readers through strategies and measures to prevent air pollution and better understand challenges that emission sources pose to society and ecosystems.
The Politics of Air Pollution by George A. GonzalezWho has been at the political forefront of clean air policy development in the United States? "In the Politics of Air Pollution, George A. Gonzalez argues that the answer is neither the federal governent, nor environmental groups, but rather locally oriented economic elites in conjuction with state and local governments. These local growth coalitions, composed of mostly large landholders, land developers, and the owners of regional media and utility firms, support clean air policies insofar as they contribute to the creation of a positive investment climate and, in turn, bring about greater profits through increased land values and an expanded local consumer base.
The Role of Global Air Pollution in Aging and Disease by Caleb E. FinchGlobal Air Pollution in Aging: Reading Smoke Signals is a complete reference connecting environmental pollution research to the human aging process. Since 1800, lifespans have more than doubled as infections declined and medicine improved. But the 20th century introduced a new global scourge of air pollution from fossil fuels with the potential to damage arteries, hearts and lungs that has been related to chronic exposure of air pollution from fossil fuels. Risk areas of study include childhood obesity, brain damage associated with air pollution, increased risk for autism in children and dementia in older adults. In humans and animals, air pollution stimulates chronic inflammation in different organs, and genetic vulnerability to air pollution is being recognized, particularly for carriers of the Alzheimer risk gene ApoE4. Connects environmental pollution research to the human aging process Raises new issues relevant to the controversies on air pollution and global warming, challenging assumptions that lifespan will continue to increase in the 21st Century Examines the burden of air pollution to disadvantaged populations, with anticipated greater impact in developing countries which rely on fossil fuels for economic development in future decades
Publication Date: 2018
Environmental Justice : Concepts, Evidence and Politics by Gordon WalkerEnvironmental justice has increasingly become part of the language of environmental activism, political debate, academic research and policy making around the world. It raises questions about how the environment impacts on different people's lives. Does pollution follow the poor? Are some communities far more vulnerable to the impacts of flooding or climate change than others? Are the benefits of access to green space for all, or only for some? Do powerful voices dominate environmental decisions to the exclusion of others? This book focuses on such questions and the complexities involved in answering them. It explores the diversity of ways in which environment and social difference are intertwined and how the justice of their interrelationship matters. It has a distinctive international perspective, tracing how the discourse of environmental justice has moved around the world and across scales to include global concerns, and examining research, activism and policy development in the US, the UK, South Africa and other countries. The widening scope and diversity of what has been positioned within an environmental justice 'frame' is also reflected in chapters that focus on waste, air quality, flooding, urban greenspace and climate change. In each case, the basis for evidence of inequalities in impacts, vulnerabilities and responsibilities is examined, asking questions about the knowledge that is produced, the assumptions involved and the concepts of justice that are being deployed in both academic and political contexts. Environmental Justice offers a wide ranging analysis of this rapidly evolving field, with compelling examples of the processes involved in producing inequalities and the challenges faced in advancing the interests of the disadvantaged. It provides a critical framework for understanding environmental justice in various spatial and political contexts, and will be of interest to those studying Environmental Studies, Geography, Politics and Sociology.
Publication Date: 2012
Environmental Health Ethics by David B. ResnikEnvironmental Health Ethics illuminates the conflicts between protecting the environment and promoting human health. In this study, David B. Resnik develops a method for making ethical decisions on environmental health issues. He applies this method to various issues, including pesticide use, antibiotic resistance, nutrition policy, vegetarianism, urban development, occupational safety, disaster preparedness, and global climate change. Resnik provides readers with the scientific and technical background necessary to understand these issues. He explains that environmental health controversies cannot simply be reduced to humanity versus environment and explores the ways in which human values and concerns health, economic development, rights, and justice interact with environmental protection.
To find additional resources for the topic of Air Pollution, begin in Franklin, the library catalog. You may want to use other keyterms when searching for information on this topic. For example,
Volatile organic compounds
Indoor particulate matter
As you investigate the topic more closely, you will begin to find additional terms that can then be incorporated into your search to find more material. Remember to construct your search using the boolean operators AND, OR, NOT.
The OR operator is used to string together like terms/synonyms. (Air pollution OR atmospheric pollution OR air contamination)
The AND operator is used to combine 2 different concepts. (Air pollution AND environmental justice)
The NOT operator will remove a topic from your search. (Air pollution NOT Indoor Air)
Savvy searchers use a combination of AND, OR, NOT when designing their searches (Air pollution OR atmospheric pollution) AND (environmental justice OR environmental racism)
If you have any questions about constructing your searches, feel free to reach out to me!