It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get a comprehensive view of your particular area of interest through these scholarly handbooks and guides
These resources can help you come up with dates, names, additional vocabulary and variant spellings for your research. They can also help you develop a better understanding of your topic or give you ideas for comparisons and contrasts.
Provides an authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects, including articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.
AT THIS TIME BECAUE OF LIBRARY CLOSURE, CHOOSE THE OPTION TO LIMIT YOUR SEARCH TO ONLINE. Collections focus on humanities and social sciences (but not exclusively). Includes books for history, literature, philosophy, politics, economics ..
Rebecca Stuhr is the librarian specialists for Classical Studies.
You can arrange individual appointments or ask questions by email by contacting Rebecca at stuhrreb @ upenn.edu or click the button just below to find a time that works for you:
Rebecca also has office hours in the Classics Lounge, Cohen Hall 2nd floor: Mondays 1-2 and Thursdays 12:30-1:30. Feel free to drop in any time.
Use keywords or subject terms to search article databases
Examples of keywords or subject terms to combine and use as you search Franklin Catalog or databses listed below. Use an * to truncate words (gree*=greece or greek; farm*=farm, farms, farmstead) for better searching.
greece, greek, rome, roman
agriculture, econom*, trade, farm*, animals, [type of animal], crops, food [specific crops or food]
networks, connections, routes, transport*
coins, treasurey, finance
domestic, home, labor, work, textiles
archaeolog*, bioarchaeolog*, zooarchaeolog*
disease, mortality, plague, illness, death
rural, urban, countryside, [locations], landscape
enviornment*, eco*, geograph*
These databases will also uncover book chapters along with articles in journals
JSTOR provides access to about 119 archaeology journals and 78 classical studies journals. It can be tricky to find just the right articles because it is searching every word in every article in the database. You may want to watch this short video on how to search JSTOR for classical studies.
The standard database for research in the broad area of Classical Studies. It indexes the current scholarship from over 1,500 journals and as well as books, edited volumes and conference papers. (Compare with JSTOR). Watch a short video on how to search L'Annee Phil.
An online resource to academic articles. Focused on multiple aspects of ancient studies including archaeology, history, literature, economics, and more. For a quick tour on how best to use, see this short video.
Penn Libraries' equivalent to Google Scholar -- all of our subscribed and open access content. Search by keyword and subject terms or search authors and titles -- connect to online content or find print in Penn Libraries collections
Like Loeb, provides bilingual editions of the ancient Greek and Latin authors. Follow this link, then scroll down to see link for "only classical authors." Follow this link, then click on "Browse authors."
focuses on the economic performance of the Roman empire, analysing the extent to which Roman political domination of the Mediterranean and north-west Europe created the conditions for the integration of agriculture, production, trade, and commerce across the regions of the empire.