It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Loeb provides fully searchable access to the entire bilingual Loeb library of critical editions of Greek and Latin text.
Searching by title will take you to chapters and segments of texts. Go to the volume itself to see introductory material, bibliography, and other useful critical material. To do that you'll want to click on the green volume link in the upper right hand corner, which looks like this: LCL 516
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. You will need to track down the actual articles through our library catalog/articles+ because this freely available resource does not connect with our penntext article finder.
TOCS-IN is ancient in Web years, and so use one or two terms in your search.
Online source for timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). Each review provides chapter by chapter descriptions. Updated with new reviews daily.
JSTOR provides access to about 119 archaeology journals and 78 classical studies journals. It can be tricky to find just the right articles because it is searching every word in every article in the database. You may want to watch this short video on how to search JSTOR for classical studies.
The standard database for research in the broad area of Classical Studies. It indexes the current scholarship from over 1,500 journals and as well as books, edited volumes and conference papers. (Compare with JSTOR). Watch a short video on how to search L'Annee Phil.
An online resource to academic articles. Focused on multiple aspects of ancient studies including archaeology, history, literature, economics, and more. For a quick tour on how best to use, see this short video.
Penn Libraries' equivalent to Google Scholar -- all of our subscribed and open access content. Search by keyword and subject terms or search authors and titles -- connect to online content or find print in Penn Libraries collections
Rebecca Stuhr is the librarian specialists for Classical Studies.
You can arrange individual appointments or ask questions by email by contacting Rebecca at stuhrreb @ upenn.edu or click the button just below to find a time that works for you:
Rebecca also has office hours in the Classics Lounge, Cohen Hall 2nd floor: Mondays 1-2 and Thursdays 12:30-1:30. Feel free to drop in any time.
Diet -- history; Philosophy, Medical -- history.; Hippocrates. De diaeta; Medicine--philolosphy; Medicine, Greek and Roman; Medicine, Islamic; Medicine, Arab; Medicine, Persian; Medicine in the Qur'an; History of medicine; obstetrics; Fractures; Epidemics; Prognosis; Medicine, ancient[this phrase goes beyond Greek and Roman to include other countries and cultures]; Traditional medicine; Medical archaeology;
Subject terms for searching Franklin and journal databases
Try using "keyword expert" which allows a statement such as (galen or hippocrates) AND (child* OR mother*)
or us "subject heading keyword" which allows you to search any term within an established subject heading. Looking for a text that is specifically in print or online? Under Access in the left hand column click on "Online" or "At the library"
* after a word truncates that word : thera* (could be therapy or therapeutic)
" " around words = a phrase: "history of medicine"