Venture Capital and the Finance of Innovation, Second Edition by Andrew Metrick; Ayako YasudaThe Financial Principles Every Venture Capitalist Needs To Master. In Venture Capital and the Finance of Innovation, future and current venture capitalists will find a useful guide to the principles of finance and the financial models that underlie venture capital decisions. Assuming no knowledge beyond concepts covered in first-year MBA course, the text serves as an innovative model for the valuation of start ups, and will familiarize you with the relationship between risk and return in venture capital, historical statistics on the performance of venture capital investments, total and partial valuation--and more.
Call Number: Lippincott Library HG4751.M48 2011
Publication Date: 2010-09-14
The Business of Venture Capital, Third Edition by Mahendra RamsinghaniThe new edition of the definitive guide for venture capital practitioners--covers the entire process of venture firm formation & management, fund-raising, portfolio construction, value creation, and exit strategies Since its initial publication, The Business of Venture Capital has been hailed as the definitive, most comprehensive book on the subject. Now in its third edition, this market-leading text explains the multiple facets of the business of venture capital, from raising venture funds, to structuring investments, to generating consistent returns, to evaluating exit strategies. Author and VC Mahendra Ramsinghani who has invested in startups and venture funds for over a decade, offers best practices from experts on the front lines of this business. This fully-updated edition includes fresh perspectives on the Softbank effect, career paths for young professionals, case studies and cultural disasters, investment models, epic failures, and more. Readers are guided through each stage of the VC process, supported by a companion website containing tools such as the LP-GP Fund Due Diligence Checklist, the Investment Due Diligence Checklist, an Investment Summary format, and links to white papers and other industry guidelines. Designed for experienced practitioners, angels, devils, and novices alike, this valuable resource: Identifies the key attributes of a VC professional and the arc of an investor's career Covers the art of raising a venture fund, identifying anchor investors, fund due diligence, negotiating fund investment terms with limited partners, and more Examines the distinct aspects of portfolio construction and value creation Balances technical analyses and real-world insights Features interviews, personal stories, anecdotes, and wisdom from leading venture capitalists The Business of Venture Capital, Third Edition is a must-read book for anyone seeking to raise a venture fund or pursue a career in venture capital, as well as practicing venture capitalists, angel investors or devils alike, limited partners, attorneys, start-up entrepreneurs, and MBA students.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2021-01-13
Venture Capital Investments by Raj Kumar; Manu SharmaVenture Capital is a form of financing provided by wealthy investors, investment banks and other financial institutions to start-ups and small- to medium-sized enterprises with strong growth potential in exchange of private equity stakes. These investors are also known as venture capitalists. With the rise of start-ups and small ventures, the market of venture capitalist and the interest of people in venture capitalism are also increasing. The valuation of the firms done by the venture capitalist at the beginning is not just a betting game. It is a thorough research done using different strategies and computing formulas. Venture Capital Investments gives a fundamental understanding of various aspects of venture capital covering the nature of investments, deal evaluation, structure, economics and fundraising. It discusses the challenges a venture capitalist faces right from raising funds to evaluating a potential deal and exit valuation. The book begins by covering the difference between the private market and the public market. Finally, it discusses fund economics and fund structure in venture capital firms. The book will be a helpful read for entrepreneurs who want to get into the shoes of a venture capitalist and understand how they valuate a firm or a start-up. It will also be an informative read for the aspiring venture capitalists who are interested to enter the venture capital market.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020-07-31
The Little Book of Venture Capital Investing by Louis C. Gerken; Wesley A. Whittaker (As told to)A little book full of enormous value for novices and seasoned venture capitalists alike After having been thrown for a loop by the bursting of the tech bubble more than a decade ago, the venture capital industry suddenly has come roaring back to life over the past two years. In 2011 alone, more than $7.5 billion in venture capital was invested--representing more than a 19% increase over the previous year--in more than 966 companies. A majority of these companies reside in the life sciences, Internet, and alternative energy sectors. In today's weak job market, VC is more important than ever, since financing new tech, alternative energy, media, and other small to mid-sized companies is vital to creating new jobs. Written by Lou Gerken, a noted international authority on venture capital and alternative investments, this book tells you everything you need to know about the venture capital industry's important role in enhancing economic growth and employment. It is also the perfect go to primer on making venture capital investments to enhance portfolio returns. Highly accessible explanations of the ins and outs of venture capital for would-be investors and experienced VCs Highlights the historical VC track record, and offers expert advice and guidance on venture capital exposure, investment options, sourcing opportunities and due diligence Provides proven strategies for successful investment selection, timing, monitoring, and exiting for optimum returns Features endorsements from luminaries of the VC world, including Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers co-founder Frank Caulfield, and Dr. Art Laffer, among others
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-12-17
Business-Oriented Subscription Literature Databases
Covers thousands of news, legal and business sources including: print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes
Full-text database for the scholarly, professional, and policy literature on agriculture and the environment. It titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 880,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 13,000 records.
Legal research database containing fulltext documents (PDF) organized into collections including: Legal Classics, Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, Treaties and Agreements Library, Subject Compilations of State Laws, and the United Nations Law Collection.