Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book reviews offer critical reaction to a work, usually within a year or two of its publication. Reviews vary in length and authority but can occasionally be long scholarly essays on a work, an author, or a subject. More often, book reviews supply a summary of the book's content and the reviewer's reactions to it.
This is a selective bibliography of sources for reviews of works in the social sciences and humanities, including some major book reviewing periodicals in various disciplines. Search Franklin under the subject keyword phrase books reviews periodicals to identify additional sources.
General Online Search tools for Book Reviews
Franklin Articles+ is a mega-database that indexes the content from many providers, including numerous databases. Note under Content Type, the useful book review limit.
Full-text database of the mostly backfiles of scholarly journals in many fields. For book reviews, choose: Advanced Search and check the box for Reviews.
Sources Good for Older Works
Classic Print Book Review Indexes
Book Review Index
Print.[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z1035 .A1 B6]
Indexes all reviews in about 215 English-language journals, including reviews of fiction, non-fiction and children's books. Monthly with quarterly and annual cumulations. Covers 1966-present.
Magill Book Reviews
Online. Provide summaries of classic literature as well as current best sellers with 500 new reviews added each year. Magill Book Reviews are unique to EBSCO products and not available as a printed collection.
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974
Print.[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z1035 .A1 C64]
Index by author name to book reviews in 459 scholarly journals in history, political science, and sociology. Short notices as well as full-length reviews included. Reviewers' names not given.
Current book review citations.
Print. [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z1035 .A1 C86]
Covers non-fiction, fiction, foreign-language titles, and new editions. Citations include name of reviewer. Covers 1976-82.
National Library Service cumulative book review index 1905-1974.
Print. [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z1035 .A1 N38]
Six-volume [3 alphabetically by author, 3 by title] cumulative index to reviews cited in Book Review Digest plus those published in Saturday Review [1924-1974], Library Journal [1907-1974], and Choice [1969-1974].
Bibliographie der Rezensionen=International Bibliography of Book Reviews (IBR). 77 vols., 1900-1943. Leipzig: Dietrich, 1901-1944.
Print. [Various locations: see Franklin: Catalog]
Index to reviews in 3000+ German-language serials from 1901 until 1911 and from 1911 to 1943 [except 1916-1924]. German and non-German serials. By 1943, 5000 German and 4000 other titles were indexed, including 50 newspapers. Indexes some English-language titles not included in Book Review Digest.
[Van Pelt Library: AI9 .B6]
Internationale bibliographie der Rezensionen wissenschaftlicher Literatur = International bibliography of book reviews of scholarly literature.
Published in four sections: A - index of periodicals consulted [4000+]; B - classified subject index [in German, with references from English and French equivalents] of book reviews; C - index of book reviews by reviewed authors; D - index of book reviews by reviewer. International; major western language journals; all subjects, including scientific ones.
Penn Libraries - Contacts