Vet Library Books: New Books

A good marketing strategy is the difference between a thriving practice and a "surviving" practice. This book is a comprehensive resource for any member of the veterinary team looking to establish and grow a social media and marketing strategy for their practice. Whether you're a beginner or a pro, this invaluable resource will ensure your practice is reaching not only existing clients but potential new clients!

This book takes a holistic approach to endocrinology, introducing students to the diverse facets of this interdisciplinary science ranging from the medical to comparative domains, while also exploring evolutionary, environmental, and conservation specializations within the field. It is founded on the principle that students interested in the health sciences will benefit from understanding how proficiency in endocrine function among a diversity of organisms contributes to advances in modern medicine.

This book provides a thorough grounding in practical communication principles for client and team interactions, and it helps veterinarians and staff take their communication skills to the next level. It describes specific evidence-based techniques, gives examples of their use, and demonstrates how to use each skill in the clinical setting. It is a great resource for veterinary professionals at any level.

This is a great pharmacological resource for veterinary practitioners. It is a concise, easily navigable reference that combines information scattered throughout the academic literature and covers mechanisms of action of commonly used drugs in commonly encountered species, drug interactions, and clinical uses of anesthetic drugs.

A compendium of issues of the online journal of the Primitive & Aboriginal Dogs Society (P.A.D.S.)

This book provides a comprehensive collection of experimental procedures for research using Xenopus. It includes basic methods for Xenopus husbandry, egg harvesting, embryo collection, microdissection, and visualization, as well as strategies for extract preparation, genetic manipulation, genomic analysis, transcriptomics, and proteomics. It is an important reference for laboratories that currently work with these organisms and for those seeking to start using Xenopus frogs in their research for the first time.

This book covers the competencies necessary to assure the highest quality of aquatic veterinary services. It provides systematic, highly practical guidance on the treatment of aquatic mammals, amphibians, fish, and invertebrates in veterinary practice. This book is a must-have reference and review guide for veterinary students and practitioners interested in practicing aquatic veterinary medicine, as well as for aquatic veterinarians looking to become WAVMA certified or wanting to acquire OIE "Day One" competency.

This book assembles a diverse group of authors with expertise in a variety of fields relating to detection canines and the chemical sensing industry, including both research and operational perspectives on detection canines. It illustrates how science enhances our understanding of how canines are employed for solving some of the world’s leading detection challenges.

This book is a manual for applied labs on the nutrition and feeding of horses. It explores critical ideas in equine nutrition, from plant identification to determining the cost of feeding. This book is ideal for pre-veterinary and equine studies students as well as veterinary medicine and veterinary technician students, equine nutritionists, and the owners and breeders of horses.

This book focuses on the behavioral differences and tendencies that have arisen in different breed lines, and explores, summarizes, and explains the scientific evidence on what breed can and cannot tell us about behavior. It provides a comprehensive and approachable view of the science behind breed-specific behaviors, and it is an important read for researchers, students, veterinary practitioners and animal behaviorists, as well as shelter staff, dog trainers, or anyone looking for a greater understanding of dog breed differences.

This book explains the role of hormones in improving and monitoring the production, performance, reproduction, behaviour and health of livestock animals. It is an invaluable text for students of animal science and veterinary medicine, and it provides a useful resource for those in academia and industry interested in applications of endocrinology in animal production systems.

This book is veterinarian Jody Lulich's memoir of trauma and healing. Lulich is the son of a Black mother and white father who overcomes family trauma to find the courage of compassion in veterinary practice. Lulich reflects on all the ways that race has shaped his life. This book is a moving testament to the power of compassion in the face of seemingly overwhelming circumstances.

This book takes an informed and supportive look at the philosophical and psychological impacts of grief, emphasizing the individual experiences of clients, while also addressing the impacts on the veterinarian and veterinary team. It provides practitioners and students alike with tools to better understand grief and its impact on the human-animal bond. It also teaches veterinary team members how to navigate their own mix of emotions as they themselves experience and process recurrent grief that can contribute to compassion fatigue and burnout.

Whether you are training a new puppy, considering adopting a dog, researching dog breeds, or simply curious about your own dog's happiness and behavior, this book has all the answers. It has recommendations from leading veterinarians, researchers, and trainers to help you cultivate a rewarding and respectful relationship with your dog. Dog owners and veterinary professionals alike will appreciate this book's substantial insight into how dogs and humans relate to one another.

This book shares best practices collected across key laboratories and core facilities, taking the reader through key tactics for executing the most usual mass spectrometry experiments. It explores the most common questions new researchers have, guides readers to properly design the workflow for successful integration of mass spectrometry into protein biochemical analyses, and provides examples of sample preparation for a number of different materials. It is the perfect lab manual for research teams or for use as a new staff training material.

This book provides the fundamental tools for achieving a comprehensive, current, and critical overview of the HAI field and is an integral text for undergraduate and postgraduate students undertaking modules in human-animal interaction, in social sciences such as anthropology, cultural studies, criminology, ethics and laws or in life sciences such as animal behaviour, conservation and welfare, biology, neuroscience, physiology, psychology, public health and those studying veterinary science.

This book provides an overview of outbreak activities alongside compelling case studies and visuals to guide readers through the complexity involved in outbreak preparedness, response, and recovery. It lifts the curtain on the rationale and interconnectedness of outbreak responses across different fields and at various levels, presenting accessible information that ensures a shared understanding of the essential activities to control an outbreak.

This book is a comprehensive reference guide for the clinical management of pregnant and periparturient mares and neonatal foals. It covers topics such as fetal monitoring, parturition, and peri-parturient disorders in the mare, as well as diagnostic and therapeutic options for ill neonatal foals. It is an invaluable resource for any veterinary student, researcher, or practitioner engaged with mares and foals.

This book is a guide to small animal anaesthesia for the veterinary practice. It analyzes each stage in turn, beginning with a discussion of pre-assessment and pre-medication of patients. Most critically, it reviews the normal functioning of each physiological system in small animals before detailing common problems caused in these systems by anaesthesia. It is an essential tool for veterinary nurses and veterinary technicians.

This book reviews considerations for professionals in clinical veterinary medicine (large and small animal) while pregnant and after giving birth. It delivers scientific information on the specific risks to the mother and baby that may be encountered during pregnancy while working in veterinary medicine. The book also covers topics related to mental health challenges, announcing a pregnancy and planning for parental leave, navigating the fourth trimester, and returning to work.

This book features an in-depth examination of the ongoing problem of bovine mastitis and the potential solutions offered by polymer nanoparticles. With extensive research and analysis, the book delves into the causes and consequences of bovine mastitis, including the shift in the relevance of various infections and the increasing problem of antibiotic resistance. It is an invaluable resource for researchers and experts in the field of veterinary medicine.

This book explores the link between animals, people and their social and physical environments in relation to livestock farming, food safety, food security and sustainability. It is essential reading for academics and practitioners who work within farming, food systems and international development, as well as veterinary and animal welfare professionals.

This book describes how animals were driven immense distances to market and harnessed for transportation, and how they were used to power machines. Even after industrialization, animals were employed for innumerable purposes besides being co-opted as pets, and this book details how many species were relocated around the world and how late natural products persisted into the age of synthetics. It is a very interesting read.

Comparative Veterinary Anatomy: A Clinical Approach describes the comprehensive, clinical application of anatomy for veterinarians, veterinary students, allied health professionals and undergraduate students majoring in biology and zoology. The book covers the applied anatomy of dogs, cats, horses, cows and other farm animals, with a short section on avian/exotics, with a focus on specific clinical anatomical topics. The work improves the understanding of basic veterinary anatomy by making it relevant in the context of common clinical problems. This book will serve as a single-source reference on the application of important anatomical structures in a clinical setting. Students, practitioners and specialists will find this information easy-to-use and well-illustrated, thus presenting an accurate representation of essential anatomical structures that relates to real-life clinical situations in veterinary medicine.