Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these databases to locate peer-reviewed scholarly articles about your topic:
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, film, and television. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Articles+ searches through many of our Penn-subscribed journals, and brings you results all in one place.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.
Penn's subscription currently includes all the available collections:
- the Arts & Sciences Collection I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII and the Complement
- the Business II & III Collection
- the Biological Sciences Collection
- the Health & General Science Collection
- the Language and Literature Collection
- the Music Collection
- the 19th Century British Pamphlets
Access to journals from JSTOR is restricted to current Penn faculty, staff and students.
Printing from the JSTOR database requires downloading a helper application called JPrint.
This document suggests a good method of crafting effective keyword searches:
Using this Guide
This guide will help you to:
- Understand how to read citations
- Use citations and keywords to locate sources
- Choose the best scholarly and popular resources for your topic
- Easily contact a Penn librarian for additional support
Resources for Background & Context
Disney Culture by
Publication Date: 2017-03-17
Wills offers a nuanced take on the corporate ideologies running through animated and live-action Disney movies from Frozen to Fantasia, from Mary Poppins to Star Wars: The Force Awakens. But Disney Culture encompasses much more than just movies as it explores the intersections between Disney's business practices and its cultural mythmaking.
Disney and Philosophy by
Publication Date: 2019-11-22
Take a magic carpet ride through Disney's wonderful world of films and entertainment experiences, and discover the wisdom within its most popular and enduring stories.
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.
Film & Television Literature Index
Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Provides access to thousands of top newspapers and magazines just as they appear in print. The PressReader collection covers to date nearly 6000 newspapers and magazines from all over the world. There are publications from over a hundred countries and in more than 60 languages. Among the newspapers there are international top titles, such as The Washington Post, other broadsheets and tabloids as well as national and local newspapers.
Current and historical news from thousands of publications worldwide in over 20 languages. Company overviews and stock data are available for public companies.
Indexes new, business, and legal resources.
Polling the Nations
Primary data, fulltext for approximately 250,000 individual questions and aggregated responses, often cross tabulated by respondent characteristics, compiled from public opinion surveys. Topics cover social, health, economic, and political issues at local, state, national, and international levels.