Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researching Prospective Employers
Along with carefully scouring a prospective employer’s website, you may find more information about the organization by using these websites and resources.
Corporate Affiliations is an international directory of more than 170,000 public or private parent companies and their subsidiaries. Historical data about company linkage goes back approximately 10 years, and the directory is updated weekly.
The Foundation Directory Professional
Information about the largest public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites.
Hoover's Online provides company profiles for approximately 12 million public and private international companies. Information provided includes company histories, strategies, market positions, and major events, and in-depth coverage is given to the top 25,000 businesses worldwide. Hoover's is searchable by company name, industry keyword, ticker, or executive name, and you can browse companies by name, geography, industry, and stock index. Other search options include a search of news sources, reports, and IPO companies. The database is updated daily.
Thomas Register is the most comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. The resource requires free registration to search. Company profiles are rather sparse, but the Thomas Register is a good way to look up companies' contact information and a good way to find competition by seeing who sells a particular product.
Lippincott Library's list
Lippincott Library's list of other company profiling sources may have some additional resources that could help you find company or industry information.