Guides: EESC 1000 Introduction to Geology Library Guide: Home

About this guide

This guide can be used to assist faculty, students and researchers in finding resources on Earth & Environmental Sciences.

[Satellite view of Philadelphia, image courtesy of USGS]

Other Helpful Services and Resources

Fast Full Text
How to quickly get to the full text of an article.
Using electronic resources
This guide instructs on how to use PennText and obtain the content you need.
Digital Scholarship and Data Services
The Penn Libraries Research Data & Digital Scholarship team facilitates data-driven and data-literate research and scholarship across the disciplines and fosters informed and ethical data communities at Penn.
ScholarlyCommons
This guide will help you to become more familiar with Penn's institutional repository, ScholarlyCommons, and the various services provided by the ScholarlyCommons team.
NIH Public Access Policy
The information in this guide will help with several of the compliance issues that University of Pennsylvania authors will need to address and is organized around three steps to compliance: addressing copyright, submitting to PMC and citing PMCIDs in NIH
Data Management Plans
This guide provide information and resources to assist researchers in data management planning process.

Streaming Video

Dark Waters
Inspired by the true story of Robert Bilott, an attorney who took on the DuPont.

Core Earth & Environmental Science Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Full-text database for the scholarly, professional, and policy literature on agriculture and the environment. It titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more.
Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.
Geobase
is a database, multidisciplinary in scope, which indexes bibliographic information and abstracts for the Geographical, Earth, and Ecological sciences, published by Engineering Information, a subsidiary of Elsevier. The broad subject coverage includes earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, physical geography, social geography and oceanography. Development studies are also included in this database.
GeoRef
The principal tool for identifying the worldwide literature in geology and the geosciences.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 880,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 13,000 records.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
Web of Science
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.

Related Earth & Environmental Science Databases

AGRICOLA
Covers agriculture, agronomy, animal science, breeding, dairy science, farm management, food and nutrition, and zoology.

Birds of the World
Formerly BNA Online, Birds of the World provides comprehensive life histories for birds from all over the globe.

BuildingGreen Suite
About BuildingGreen, LLC: We are an independent company committed to providing accurate, unbiased, and timely information designed to help building-industry professionals and policy makers improve the environmental performance, and reduce the adverse impacts, of buildings. We offer both print and electronic resources to help you design and build construction projects from a whole-systems perspective and take an integrated design approach that minimizes ecological impact and maximizes economic performance. ...our core information resources: BuildingGreen Suite, Environmental Building News, and GreenSpec,
Compendex
The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Energy Citations Database
The Energy Citations Database was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to improve access to Departmental and predecessor agency scientific and technical information. The database contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Energy Citations Database includes bibliographic records of literature in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines.
PAIS Index
Bibliographic citations (1915-) with indexing on contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide related to a wide range of topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education, health, environment, planning, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
Policy Commons
Discovery platform and repository for IGO, NGO, think tank, and research organization materials, including access to more than 24 million pages of curated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets from thousands of policy organizations.

Subject Guide

Melanie Cedrone

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Holman Biotech Commons
3610 Hamilton Walk

215-898-1862

Introductory Geology texts

Geology: a Very Short Introduction by Jan Zalasiewicz
ISBN: 9780198804451
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Encyclopedia of Geology by Scott Elias (Editor-In-Chief); David Alderton (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference - Stacks QE5 .E516 2021
ISBN: 9780081029084
Publication Date: 2020-12-02
Environmental Geology by James W. LaMoreaux
ISBN: 9781493987870
Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of the Anthropocene by Dominick A. DellaSala (Editor-In-Chief); Michael I. Goldstein (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780128135761
Publication Date: 2017-11-27

Geological Society Publications

Geological Society of American Special Papers
State-of-the-art treatments of rapidly evolving subjects; series published since 1934
Geological Society of America Field Guides
Field guides are developed by USGS, local-government, or university geologist to offer factual and informative geologic history for for visitors to natural areas.
Geological Society of America Memoirs
Results of long-term study of a subject; likely to remain the authoritative reference on a subject for a number of years.
Geological Society of London Special Papers
The Society’s flagship book series, SPs represent a state-of-the-art treatment of their subject matter.
Geological Society of London Memoirs
Definitive treatments of their subjects by acknowledged experts in their field.

EESC 1000 Introduction to Geology Library Guide: Home