Guides: Diversity at Penn: Researching Diversity

Databases for Diversity Related Research and Current Events

For the most detailed selection of databases, see research guides linked to in righthand column. The list below represents highlights from the collection.

Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-
Provides access to more than 200 ethnic, minority and native press newspapers and magazines.

America: History and Life
A bibliographic database indexing books, book chapters, and over 1,800 journals relating to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Black Literature Index
"This index allows users to search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940. For citations to content from the Chicago Defender for which full text is available in Black Studies Center, a link is included directly to the relevant article."

African American Newspaper databases at the Penn Libraries
Databases with a special focus on Women at the Penn Libraries
Independent Voices
Open access collection of the alternative press of the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s with over 1000 titles from the special collections of over a dozen libraries.
Databases with a special focus on the Americas at the Penn Libraries
Hispanic American Periodicals Index HAPI
Covers Latin America and U.S. Latinos in all areas of the humanities and social sciences. HAPI cites articles published in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish from over four hundred journals. 1970 to the present.
Jewish Exponent 1887-1990
An historical newspaper fully searchable through Proquest Historical Newspapers. See also JSTOR: Jewish Studies for access to 60 journals ranging in publication dates from 1899 to 2014.
Jewish newspapers at Penn Libraries
To connect to the libraries other Jewish newspaper subscriptions and access...

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1900
Based primarily on the listings in Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 and Winifred Gregory's Union list of serials in libraries of the United States and Canada, this database focuses on newspapers first published before the Civil War. The collection includes over 900 newspapers. Includes the Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-1900), Philadelphia Public Ledger (1836-1876) and Philadelphia North American (1839-1879) as well as many other Philadelphia Newspapers.

Proquest History Vault
Links to collections of documents including the following:
Black freedom struggle in the 20th century: Federal government records; Black freedom struggle in the 20th century: Organizational records and personal papers, part 1; NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; NAACP papers : Board of directors, annual conferences, major speeches, and national staff files; NAACP papers : The NAACP's major campaigns--education, voting, housing, employment, armed forces; NAACP papers : The NAACP's major campaigns--legal department files; NAACP papers : The NAACP's major campaigns--Scottsboro, anti-lynching, criminal justice, peonage, labor, and segregation and discrimination complaints and responses; Slavery and the Law; State slavery statutes.
Archives Unbound
Collections of documents including: Feminism in Cuba; Federal Surveillance of African Americans; Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories of the Civil Rights Movement; Papers of Amiri Baraka; Republic of New Afrika; The West's Response to Jewish Immigration; Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s; The American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism; National Domestic Workers Union; Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newspapers; American Indian Correspondence; European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century; Japanese American Relocation Camp Newspapers; Women, War, and Society 1914-1918

Diversity at Penn: Researching Diversity

Databases for Diversity Related Research and Current Events

Library Guides for Diversity Related Services and Research

Equal Justice Initiative

September | A History of Racial Injustice