Guides: ENVS 1615-3-1 Urban Environments: Speaking About Lead In West Philadelphia: Resources

About this Guide

This guide highlights some of the library resources to assist in your research of lead in the environment.

Joe Mabel, CC BY-SA 3.0 <http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/>, via Wikimedia Commons

Websites for local and government issued Lead information

Videos on Lead Poisoning

Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Full-text database for the scholarly, professional, and policy literature on agriculture and the environment. It titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
PubMed
NLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.

Articles+
Searches the full-text content of all electronically available resources subscribed to by Penn.

GeoRef
The principal tool for identifying the worldwide literature in geology and the geosciences.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.

Selected E-books on Lead Poisoning

What the Eyes Don't See by Mona Hanna-Attisha
Call Number: Van Pelt Library RA1231.L4 H34 2018
ISBN: 9780399590832
Publication Date: 2018-06-19
The dramatic story of the Flint water crisis, by a relentless physician who stood up to power. Here is the inspiring story of how Dr. Mona Hanna-Attisha, alongside a team of researchers, parents, friends, and community leaders, discovered that the children of Flint, Michigan, were being exposed to lead in their tap water--and then battled her own government and a brutal backlash to expose that truth to the world.
Lead Wars by Gerald Markowitz; David Rosner
ISBN: 9780520954953
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
In this incisive examination of lead poisoning during the past half century, Gerald Markowitz and David Rosner focus on one of the most contentious and bitter battles in the history of public health. Lead Wars details how the nature of the epidemic has changed and highlights the dilemmas public health agencies face today in terms of prevention strategies and chronic illness linked to low levels of toxic exposure.
Brush with Death by Christian Warren
ISBN: 0801862892
Publication Date: 2000-05-09
During the twentieth century, lead poisoning killed thousands of workers and children in the United States. Thousands who survived lead poisoning were left physically crippled or were robbed of mental faculties and years of life. In Brush with Death, social historian Christian Warren offers the first comprehensive history of lead poisoning in the United States. Focusing on lead paint and leaded gasoline, Warren distinguishes three primary modes of exposure--occupational, pediatric, and environmental. This threefold perspective permits a nuanced exploration of the regulatory mechanisms, medical technologies, and epidemiological tools that arose in response to lead poisoning.
The Great Lead Water Pipe Disaster by Werner Troesken
ISBN: 9780262201674
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
The author examines the health effects of lead exposure, analysing cases from New York City, Boston, and Glasgow. He draws on period accounts, government reports, court decisions, and economic and demographic analysis to document the nature of the problem, the recognised health threats, and official intransigence.
Lead: assessing the environmental burden of disease at national and local levels by Lorna Fewtrell Rachel Kaufmann and Annette Pruss-Ustun
ISBN: 1280060581
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
This guide outlines a method for estimating the disease burden at national, city orlocal levels caused by environmental exposure to lead. The method described inthe guide assesses lead exposure from the distribution of lead levels in bloodsamples representative of the study population.
Water, Water, Everywhere? The Flint Water Crisis by Natalina A. Aquino & A. Wren Montgomery
ISBN: 9781526460639
Publication Date: 2018
Unleaded by Carrie Nielsen
Call Number: Van Pelt Library TD196.L4 N54 2021
ISBN: 9781978821002
Publication Date: 2021-08-30
Unleaded: How Changing Our Gasoline Changed Everything brings a historical perspective to this debate by examining some of the outcomes of applying (or failing to apply) sound science in policymaking.

Liaison Librarian

Melanie Cedrone

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Holman Biotech Commons
3610 Hamilton Walk

215-898-1862

How to find additional resources

To find additional resources for the topic of Lead Poisoning, begin in Franklin, the library catalog. You may want to use these subject headings when searching for information on this topic. For example,

As you investigate the topic more closely, you will begin to find additional terms that can then be incorporated into your search to find more material. Remember to construct your search using the boolean operators AND, OR, NOT.

The OR operator is used to string together like terms/synonyms. (Lead abatement OR Lead remediation)
The AND operator is used to combine 2 different concepts. (Lead poisoning AND environmental justice)
The NOT operator will remove a topic from your search. (Lead remediation NOT Soil remediation)
Savvy searchers use a combination of AND, OR, NOT when designing their searches (Lead Poisoning OR Lead Toxicology) AND (environmental justice OR environmental racism) AND (Philadelphia OR urban)

If you have any questions about constructing your searches, feel free to reach out to me!