The core content includes: Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience, second ed.; Encyclopedia of African American history, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present; Black women in America, second ed.; African American national biography.
The American National Biography (ANB) is the successor to The Dictionary of American Biography (DAB, 1926-1937). It is a source of biographical information on Americans of significance, broadly defined. The one fast rule for inclusion is that the person must have died before 1996.
Catalog of books, journals, newspapers, CDs and other units of information held by the Penn Libraries. Does not include articles or chapters within those books and journals.
Indexing (since 1861) and abstracting (since 1980) of dissertations completed at North American universities. Fulltext of all available dissertations from 1997 to present, with earlier ones available irregularly.
IIBP Full Text includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of over 20 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward).
Use this link to search Google Scholar to incorporate Penntext access to Penn subscribed and owned resources. Scroll through at least several pages for best results.
[Coverage: ca. 19010-present] A bibliographic database (EBSCO) indexing books, book chapters, and over 1,800 journals relating to the history of the United States and Canada.
