Guides: East Asian Studies Research Guide for Graduate Students: Chinese/Japanese/Korean resources

Japan

About Japan’s Scholarly Landscape

Primary and Secondary Sources

Finding a Citation [Note: Articles+/Google Scholar are not very helpful for Japanese materials]
- CiNii, Zassaku Plus, MagazinePlus, NDL search (use 詳細検索 to 雑誌記事索引 only)
Penn Libraries e-resources, with records in Franklin:
- JapanKnowledge+: Includes numerous reference works and limited e-books
  - Note: be sure to log out after you’re done! (simultaneous users are limited)
- Other digital reference sources: (Kenkyūsha Online Dictionary, WhoPlus)
- Newspapers (Mainichi, Asahi and WEBRONZA, Yomiuri, Japan Times)
  - Additional newspapers to which Penn subscribes (current and back issues)
Digitized primary sources:
- NDL Digital Collections and 早稲田大学古典籍総合データベース
- Multi-institution digital archive search at Japan Search Beta and IIIF Discovery in Japan
- Digitized books and journals at the US-based HathiTrust
- Japanese cultural properties at Cultural Heritage Online and eMuseum

Video resources (check out this guide for help in getting videos at Penn)

Here is a short list of some helpful reference books. Feel free to reach out to Anna for help with using them or learning more about them.

Grand Chinese Dictionary 中文百科大辭典
A multi-volume dictionary published in Taiwan.
Han yu da ci dian 漢語大詞典
There are many versions of these larger-scale dictionaries in the East Asia seminar room.
Han yu da zi dian 漢語大字典
This edition is from 2006.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Below are some helpful databases for finding primary source material.

ctext.org
The Chinese Text Project is an online open-access digital library that makes pre-modern Chinese texts available to readers and researchers all around the world.
Shanghai Library
This massive database provides full page images for:
-The "Full-text Database of Modern Chinese Books" (1840~1949) contains scans of more than 120,000 books
-Republican-era periodicals
-late-Qing and Republican newspapers, including 新聞報, 時報, and 上海新報, and more than 400 tabloids, 1897 and 1949.

CHANT-Chinese Ancient Texts
To access this resource, you will be required to authenticate as an authorized Penn user. This resource works best using Internet Explorer 6.0 or above with 800 x 600 or better resolution. If you have further questions, please ask at a reference desk.
Scripta Sinica / Zhong yang yan jiu yuan Han ji dian zi wen xian zi liao ku
The largest full-text database for the study of pre-modern China containing ancient classical texts, Taiwan local histories and archives. It has detailed original texts of nearly 300 multi-volume sets containing thousands of titles in primary sources. Compiled by the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica in Taiwan. To access this database, user needs to use Chinese Traditional Font (Big5).

民国佛教期刊文献集成 Min guo Fojiao qi kan wen xian ji cheng (BQ 3 M564 2006 Index.1-Index.4)
二十世纪中国人物传记：资料索引 Er shi shi ji Zhongguo ren wu zhuan ji (DS 754.19 E7 2010 v. 1-4)
中国抗日战争史地图集 Zhongguo kang ri zhan zheng shi di tu ji (G2306.S6 Z455 1995)
Indexes of periodicals and other primary sources on women in Chinese history (HQ 1766--HQ 1861 Call Numbers)
Communist Party History (JQ 1519 Call Numbers)
Dictionaries of idiomatic Chinese 俗语 su yu and 成语 cheng yu (PL 1271 W5 1920-PL 1273 Z46 1989 Call Numbers)
Language Dictionaries (Chinese-Chinese, Chinese-English, Chinese-miscellaneous other languages) (PL 1420--PL 1498 Call Numbers)
Dictionaries of Chinese dialects (PL 1510--PL 1900)
Reference works and research guides on modern and contemporary Chinese literature and film (PL 2277--PN 1993.5 Call Numbers)