Health and Societies: Articles + Gray Literature

Website and mobile app offering quick browsing and notification for new issues from scholarly journals. Add single journal titles to your BrowZine bookshelf or add whole subject collections. See, for example, these subject collections: Medicine and Health and Core Public Health Journals.

A major database for general scholarly research. This link retrieves articles published during the past two week for the Web of Science subject category, "Social Sciences, Biomedical".

Elsevier, 1967-present.

Wiley, 1992-present.

Springer, 1997-present.

Wiley, 1979-present.

Wiley/AnthroSource, 1997-present.

Palgrave Macmillan, 2006-prseent.

SAGE, 1970-present.

Taylor & Francis, 1999-present.

Taylor & Francis, 1999-present.

Duke University Press, 1976-present.

Wiley, 1971-present.

Wiley, 1997-present. Subtitled, "A multidisciplinary journal of population health and health policy".

1955-present, with some older content. Two bibliographic databases that together cover the scholarly journal of US and Canadian history and World history, ~1450-present.

1915-present. Bibliographic database covering contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide. "Contemporary" is taken seriously by PAIS Index, so the database is particularly useful for comparing policy issues over time. Covers articles, books, government documents, and some gray literature.

H.W. Wilson, 1907-1984. Indexes the major scholarly journals in many disciplines. This was the standard US-oriented discovery tool before the discipline-specific databases starting in the 1950s.

A combined database, assembled from four databases : ISIS Current Bibliography of the History of science; Current Bibliography in the History of Technology; Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine; and Bibliografia Italiana di Storia Della scienza.

A combined database, assembled from two library catalogs that also include journal articles: Anthropological Literature (Tozzer Library, Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).

Ethnographic texts covering cultures worldwide, with subject coding for cultural materials at the paragraph level.

U.S. National Library of Medicine, 1946-present. Covers biomedical research literature and related fields. Identical to PubMed, but with more powerful searching capabilities.

U.S. National Library of Medicine, 1880-1961. The predecessor to MEDLINE. Heavy abbreviation makes IndexCat difficult to use.

The online version of Excerpta Medica. EMBASE may be stronger on international journal coverage than MEDLINE. EMBASE uses EMTREE subject terms, similar to MEDLINE's MeSH terms, and floating subheadings, similar to MEDLINE's MeSH subheadings. .

1910-present. A combined database, assembled from Public Health & Tropical Medicine (Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases, UK) and CAB Abstracts's human health and diseases module.

World Health Organization. A combined database, assembled from the bibliographic databases for each WHO regional organization : African Index Medicus (AIM); Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region (IMEMR); Index Medicus for the South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR); Latin America and the Caribbean literature on Health Sciences (LILACS); and Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRO). Useful for discovering the non-US/non-European health journal literature.

US National Library of Medicine and Ovid, 1966-present. A subset of MEDLINE that focuses on health services, technology, administration, and research.

1981-present. Covers nursing and related fields, with complete coverage of nursing journals from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.

CABI, 1910-present. Covers the research and development literature on agriculture, forestry, human health and nutrition, animal health, and natural resource conservation and management. CABI was formerly Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux - so especially strong on former British colonies. Includes WAERSA (World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts).

1974-present. A wide-ranging bibliographic database on human and physical geography. Incorporates International Development Abstracts, covering agriculture and rural development; environment and development; industrial policy; social policies such as health, housing, and education; health, demography; gender and culture; aid, international relations and politics.
HINT! To restrict your GEOBASE searching to International Development Abstracts, add this classification code string to your "expert search" : ((74*) WN CL)

A one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research from the world's leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. Three modules : Global Thinktanks; North American City Reports; World CIties.

Describes US thinktank reports. Includes a search filter for thinktanks' political ideology.

Working papers and article preprints from academic economics departments, business schools, and thinktanks worldwide.

Working papers and article preprints, primarily US business school-focused.