Archival Databases - English 1120 — Pirates, Sinners, and Castaways

Transatlantic

Empire online
Manuscript and printed materials pertaining to the history of colonialism, 1492-1962. Primarily British.
EEBO: Early English Books Online
Full-text page images of approximately 100,000 titles from the Short-Title Catalogue of English works 1475-1640, Wing's continuation for 1641-1700, and their revisions.
ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online
"Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. When complete, the product will allow full-text searching of more than 33 million pages of material, in essence, every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas."

Studies in Scarlet: Marriage and Sexuality in the U.S. & U.K., 1815-1914
Images of over 420 separately published trial narratives from the Harvard Law School Library, including cases involving adultery, divorce, homosexuality and other actions and relationship that fell outside of current social standards.
Crime Broadsides at Harvard Library
Digitized collection of over 500 British broadsides held by the Harvard Library system. "The examples digitized here span the years 1707 to 1891 and include accounts of executions for such crimes as arson, assault, counterfeiting, horse stealing, murder, rape, robbery, and treason."
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey London 1674 to 1834
"A fully searchable online edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing accounts of over 100,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court."
English Reports, 1220-1867
Database including all 176 volumes of the English Reports, Full Reprint. This collection encompasses the decisions of the English Courts prior to the commencement of the Law Reports in 1865. It includes reprints of 275 separate series of reports reprinted verbatim and spaning the years 1220 to 1867.
Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library
This is a digitized collection of about 4000 pamphlets (herein considered titles that are 50 pages or less) held at the Oliveira Lima Library at the Catholic University of America, published chiefly in the 19th and early 20th centuries. The pamphlets cover Brazilian and Portuguese history, politics, literature, and other important subject areas in the form of speeches, flyers, official decrees, sermons, poems, plays, concert and theater programs, and more.

North and South America

Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926
Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, the Library of the Bar of the City of New York and the British Library, this digitized collection contains an extensive collection of published trial transcripts, popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, briefs, arguments, and related information.
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
Freedom on the Move Project
Public database project developed at Cornell specializing on runaway ads.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Documents on the arguments for and against slavery during the 17th-19th centuries, the worldwide Abolitionist movement and its internal debates, perspectives on colonization, slavery and the US Constitution, the changing world of African Americans in the American South.

Crime, Punishment and Popular Culture, 1790-1920.
This archive unites a number of geographic areas, reflecting the widespread impact of the changes in crime and its policing during the long nineteenth century. The collection covers Europe, North America, India, and the Antipodes and includes material in English, Spanish, French, Italian, and German. Using this archive, it is possible to trace the influence of a legal judgement or development of a penal methodology through various different jurisdictions. The archive also unites a number of disciplines, from law, criminology, and history to studies of popular culture and fiction.
Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860
Contains over a hundred pamphlets and books concerning the experiences of African and African-American slaves in the American colonies and the United States. The documents comprise an assortment of trials and cases, reports, arguments, accounts, examinations of cases and decisions, proceedings, and other works of historical importance.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial to 1950
Fulltext of letters and diaries, published and manuscript, of American women during the Colonial period through 1950. Biographical information is provided for each writer. Primary source materials are searchable by document type and subject, relevant historical events, and author-specific information including author name, date, age, marital status, maternal status, and geographical location when writing, age at marriage and at first childbirth, number of marriages and of children, nationality and race, religion, occupation, and relevant personal events.

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
Over 150,000 cases covering every aspect of law and numerous types of resources, including transcripts, petitions and briefs.
World Trials
This collection contains such famous and important works as John Lawson's "American State Trials," "Howell's State Trials," "Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals," "Reports of State Trials" and "Sixty Famous Cases." Also included is the full trial collection from Cornell University Law Library, one of the most complete collections in the United States. Coverage runs from pre-18th through 20th centuries.
OYEZ - U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia
Audio recordings in RealAudio format and transcripts for all Supreme Court proceedings, 1995 to present, with spotty coverage of individual cases prior to 1995 back to 1955 also available. Many cases that do not have audio recordings do have transcripts.