Guides: EESC 6840-690 Engineering Geology and Applied Structural Geology: Home

About this Guide

This guide highlights some of the library resources for Engineering Geology and can be used as a starting point for your research.

Associations/Organizations

Databases

Geobase
is a database, multidisciplinary in scope, which indexes bibliographic information and abstracts for the Geographical, Earth, and Ecological sciences, published by Engineering Information, a subsidiary of Elsevier. The broad subject coverage includes earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, physical geography, social geography and oceanography. Development studies are also included in this database.
GeoRef
The principal tool for identifying the worldwide literature in geology and the geosciences.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
Web of Science
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Full-text database for the scholarly, professional, and policy literature on agriculture and the environment. It titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.

E-Books

Principles of engineering geology by K.V.G.K. Gokhale
ISBN: 9789352300655
Publication Date: 2008
Reservoir Geomechanics by Mark D. Zoback
ISBN: 9780521770699
Publication Date: 2007-08-30
This interdisciplinary book encompasses the fields of rock mechanics, structural geology and petroleum engineering to address a wide range of geomechanical problems that arise during the exploitation of oil and gas reservoirs. It considers key practical issues such as prediction of pore pressure, estimation of hydrocarbon column heights and fault seal potential, determination of optimally stable well trajectories, casing set points and mud weights, changes in reservoir performance during depletion, and production-induced faulting and subsidence.
Handbook of Geotechnical Testing: Basic Theory, Procedures and Comparison of Standards by Yanrong Li
ISBN: 9780429323744
Publication Date: 2019-12-11
Determination of the physical, chemical and mechanical properties of ground materials is the key to successfully deliver such projects as slope stabilization, excavation and lateral support, foundation etc. This book is intended primarily to serve this need and aims at the clear explanation, in adequate depth, of the fundamental principles, requirements and procedures of soil and rock tests.
Recent Advances in Structural Engineering, Volume 1 : Select Proceedings of SEC 2016 by A. Rama Mohan Rao
ISBN: 9789811303623
Publication Date: 2019

Links to additional books, journals and related material

Engineering Geology

Geotechnical Engineering

Geomechanics

Liaison Librarian

Melanie Cedrone

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Holman Biotech Commons
3610 Hamilton Walk

215-898-1862

How to find additional resources

To find additional resources for the topic of Aqueous Geochemistry, begin in Franklin, the library catalog. You may want to use other keyterms when searching for information on or peripheral to this topic. For example,

Engineering geology
Geotechnical testing
Geologic hazards
Soil-Structure Interface
Structural geology
Waste disposal

As you investigate the topic more closely, particularly the journal literature, you will begin to find additional terms that can then be incorporated into your search to find more material. Remember to construct your search using the Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT and enclose phrases in quotations (ex. “environmental toxicology”)

The OR operator is used to string together like terms/synonyms. ("geologic engineering" OR "engineering geology")
The AND operator is used to combine 2 different concepts. ("soil mechanics OR "slope stability") AND ("geologic engineering" OR "engineering geology")
The NOT operator will remove a topic from your search. ("geologic engineering" OR "engineering geology") AND ("soil mechanics" OR "slope stability") NOT (tunnels OR mines)
Savvy searchers use a combination of AND, OR, NOT when designing their searches.

If you have any questions about constructing your searches, feel free to reach out to me!