Guides: SPAN 3806: Representations of Dictatorship in Latin America: Home

Welcome!

This guide is intended to provide an overview of news and other related sources available via the University of Pennsylvania Libraries or freely online. You'll find these collected on the second tab of this guide. On the third tab, you'll find links to research resources in the humanities. The final tab is a link to more general library services and information. You can also always visit the Penn Libraries homepage. If you want to take a deeper dive into resources available within Latin American Studies, check out this guide.

Feel free to contact Latin American Studies Librarian Brie Gettleson with any questions!

Library Catalogs

*NEW* Penn Libraries catalog
Franklin is being phased out. This is the new catalog for Penn Libraries' collections and resources access.
Franklin
Catalog of the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' books, journals, films, scores, recordings, microforms, electronic resources, etc. It covers all libraries in the Penn system except for the Biddle Law Library.
Request options: Interlibrary loan, EZBorrow, and more
WorldCat
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries;71,000 libraries in 112 countries. Material not owned by Penn can usually be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.

Relevant Special Collections at Penn

These collections are available to view in person in the Kislak Center for Special Collections, Rare Books, and Manuscripts, found on the 6th floor of Penn's Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center.

Chilean Opposition Collection, 1983-1984
Periodicals, fliers, etc., of the resistance to the Chilean military dictatorship. A gift of Nancy Ellen Morris.
Colección de efímera política centroamericana de Fred Morgner / Fred Morgner Central American political ephemera collection
La Colección de efímera política centroamericana de Fred Morgner proviene de la colección personal de carteles y folletos de Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua y Panamá. La colección contiene materiales relacionados con los movimientos revolucionarios, así como con el activismo relacionado con los derechos de las mujeres, los trabajadores, la Teología de la Liberación, las elecciones, el antiimperialismo y la soberanía nacional. The Fred Morgner Central American Political Ephemera Collection comes from the personal collection of posters and pamphlets from Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama. The collection contains materials related to revolutionary movements as well as activism related to women's rights, workers, Liberation Theology, elections, anti-imperialism, and national sovereignty.