You will search for academic literature in databases. These databases may cover journals from various subjects, fields, and disciplines or focus on just one subject area.
Below are SOME databases that you can use to find information for your white paper. PennKey is required to access the databases. If you need help with searching, please reach out to your Critical Writing Program, Elizabeth Blake @ esblake@upenn.edu
If you need an article that you cannot access, please reach out to your CWP Librarian, or you can request an interlibrary loan. If you need help with requesting an interlibrary loan, please reach out to your CWP librarian, esblake@upenn.edu
Business
ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest): Indexes scholarly journals, including key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. All fields in business, including communications, human resources, management, and workplace learning.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO): Bibliographic and full-text content in most disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Indexes 1,200 scholarly journals. Non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles. Updated monthly.
Sage Business Cases: Cases published by several business schools (e.g. Kellogg, Berkeley, Cambridge), as well as original cases produced by Sage covering all areas of business.
For more information on business databases, contact the Lippincott Library
Political Science Library Guide- U.S. Government Documents- The Library Guide has sources of U.S. government documents and publications on the three branches of government (legislative, judicial, and executive)
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (ProQuest Interface): Indexes education journals (most comprehensively, some selectively), as well as education-related materials from scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Individual contributors submit conference papers, dissertations, and theses. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), U.S. Department of Education. Covers 1966-present. See ERIC Selection Policy. Combine searches with other ProQuest databases like PsycINFO or LLBA. (PennKey required).
Education Source Ultimate (EBSCO): “Education Source Ultimate is the world's largest and most comprehensive full-text research database designed for education students, researchers, professionals and policymakers. Coverage of education studies spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties ranging from educational assessment and education ethics to educational technology, literacy, research methodology and more."
Oxford Bibliographies Online- Education: Annotated bibliographies on specific topics, identifying useful overview and reference works, classic works, controversial works, and other significant books and articles on the topic. Bibliographic articles are frequently updated.
If you need help with Education databases, please reach out to our Education Librarian.
APA PsychInfo : The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for professional and scholarly literature in the fields of psychological and behavioral sciences. *Please note, the search filter for 'anywhere' does not include a search of the full-text. It only includes a search of the item's descriptive details/ metadata fields.
APA PsycNet: A database designed specifically to deliver APA content. It includes options to search all the APA databases including: PsycBOOKS, PsycARTICLES, PsycTESTS, PsycCRITIQUES, and PsycTHERAPY
EBSCO MegaFILE: General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
If you need help with finding information on Psychology, please reach out to our Psychology Librarian.
International Relations Library Guide - The library guide will give you an introduction on how to start your research in databases on international relations. The guide also has information on foreign policy, data and statistics, and international news.
For more information on international relations, contact the Political Science Librarian to schedule a consultation.
