Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Evidence-Based Medicine Resources: EBM Resources for Mobile Devices

An introduction to searching the literature in evidence-based medicine, with resources organized into "pyramid" models.

EBM Resources for Mobile Devices

Mobile devices are becoming increasingly useful in medical practice. A growing number of mobile apps and mobile-friendly sites are available for various aspects of medicine, including resources with evidence-based content. This guide will introduce significant mobile sites and applications for evidence-based medicine that are available to Penn students.

 

Please note: Level and quality of evidence can be difficult to determine within mobile resources. Mobile sites and applications are designed to be stripped-down and lightweight, which in many cases means that a certain amount of detail is lost - sometimes including the sources of supplied information. Please exercise caution and carefully evaluate the information found in mobile medical resources.

Because of these inconsistencies in quality, the following resources are not listed by level of evidence.

EBM Mobile Apps

ABX Guide ($$ - standard year subscription) Android, Blackberry, iPhone

A famous evidence-based point-of-care application from PDR and the Johns Hopkins faculty, for diagnosis of diseases and for finding the right antimicrobial to prescribe. Divided into 5 major sections - Diagnoses, Antibiotics, Pathogens, Management and Vaccines - including diagnostic information on  common infectious diseases, and information on anti-infective agents and prophylactic vaccinations. Also incorporates Continuing Medical Education information for clinicians.

Diagnosaurus (Free - Blackberry / $ - iPhone) Blackberry, iPhone

A diagnostic tool  from McGraw-Hill, based on Current Consult Medicine 2007. Allows the user to view entries by organ system, symptoms only, or diseases only, or to view all entries. To review possible causes of a patient's chief complaint, the user can select the symptom from the list. If the user has already made a diagnosis, she or he can then select the disease to see its DDx.

DynaMED Plus (Penn-provided) Android, Blackberry, iPad, iPhone

A clinical reference tool with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, which monitors the content of medical journals and systematic evidence review databases through journal review services. Each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity, and the new evidence is then integrated with existing content, with overall conclusions being drawn from the best available evidence. Available on-web and on-device. App installation requires a Skyscape account (free) and a serial number.

Medscape (Free) iPad, iPhone

Medscape offers an evidence-based, peer-reviewed disease and condition reference with images and video, a drug reference and interaction checker, and many other useful tools. Begin by registering for a free account online, then download and sign in to the app from your device.

Unbound Medicine/UCentral (Penn-provided) Android, Blackberry, iPad, iPhone

UCentral/Unbound Medicine integrates clinical information, trusted medical texts such as Clinical Evidence and Drug Facts A to Z, journal alerts, Medline searches, and other content across handheld devices and the Web. Support for all popular mobile platforms and discounts for other Unbound Medicine products.

EBM Mobile Sites

Even on your mobile device, be careful to access these sites from a Penn libraries webpage to ensure full access. You may also need to enter your PennKey information in some cases for access to full text.


CMDT 2017

AccessMedicine's Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2017, in an e-textbook format that is friendly to mobile devices and readers.

Consultant (Veterinary)

This veterinary diagnostic support system is used to suggest possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs and symptoms and to provide a brief synopsis of the diagnosis/cause including: 1) a general description, 2) species affected, 3) the signs/symptoms associated with it, and 4) a list of recent literature references. Its design is also simple and low-bandwidth enough to be relatively mobile-friendly.

DynaMED Plus

A clinical reference tool with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, which monitors the content of medical journals and systematic evidence review databases through journal review services. Each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity, and the new evidence is then integrated with existing content, with overall conclusions being drawn from the best available evidence. Available on-web and on-device.

Griffith's 5-Minute Consult

A quick-reference e-book containing more than 200 algorithms for dx and treatment based on presenting signs and symptoms. EBM references are cited in each entry. Available through Books @ Ovid.

Harrison's Online

The complete contents of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 16th Edition, in an e-textbook format that is friendly to mobile devices and readers.

PubMed Plus for Handhelds

PubMed Plus for Handhelds is a website for searching MEDLINE using your mobile device web browser. The text-only format is ideal for remote/low-bandwidth situations. The form allows for both free-text, natural language searches as well as PICO constructed searches.

To search Systematic Reviews or Clinical Queries in PubMed Plus for Handhelds: From the main page of the site, go to "Search MEDLINE/PubMed." Enter your search terms in either the Systematic Reviews field or the Clinical Queries field. For Clinical Queries searches, you may also select options using the radio buttons below the Clinical Queries field.

Unbound Medicine/UCentral 

UCentral/Unbound Medicine integrates clinical information, trusted medical texts such as Clinical Evidence and Drug Facts A to Z, journal alerts, Medline searches, and other content across handheld devices and the Web. Support for all popular mobile platforms and discounts for other Unbound Medicine products.

EBM Mobile-Readable Documents (PDF or PDB Format)

To read PDB formats, use eReader. To read PDF formats, use a document reader software, e.g. GoodReader.


Clinical Guidelines from ACP (Free)

A number of guidelines, alerts, and treatment information sets from ACP publications in PDB format. Scroll down to the bottom of the page for the list of guidelines available for download.

Clinical Medicine Consult ($$$ - standard year subscription)

An extensive medical textbook available in either PDB or PDF format. Includes the full text of a number of specialized textbooks, as well as hyperlinked cross-references, drug describing pearls, color illustrations, and step-by-step procedural instructions.

Other Medical Resources

Penn Health Sciences Directory of Mobile Applications

Mobile applications for the health sciences supported and recommended by Penn Libraries.

Penn Health Sciences List of Mobile-Friendly HealthSci Sites (on the Health Sciences Libraries Mobile Site)

Health sciences websites friendly to mobile devices, recommended by Penn Libraries.

Dartmouth Biomedical Libraries' Select List of Mobile Medical Resources

A useful hub of mobile resources and mobile resource collections for the health sciences, provided by Dartmouth Biomedical Libraries. Please note that some of the pages listed here may be out-of-date or link to resources that are not available from outside of Dartmouth.

NLM's Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites

A short list of both apps and sites provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Johns Hopkins's Welch Medical Library: Mobile Technologies for All Platforms

An extensive list of mobile resources in the health sciences, organized into categories including: collections, databases, drug guides, general resources, medical calculators and tools, medical/science news, patient information, medical specialties, and texts and journals. Please note that some of the resources listed here may no longer be available, or may not be available from outside of Johns Hopkins.

Acknowledgements

This page is based on the Dartmouth EBM Page Generator, and uses clipart images from Microsoft Word 2007.

Created May 2011.