Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Encyclopedias give general background information and can help you to define terms and get a brief overview. They also have lots of references, providing a good starting point for the primary literature.
You can find other encyclopedias or scientific dictionaries in your area by searching in Franklin or FindIt! or by browsing the TP call number ranges in the Chemistry and Engineering Libraries' print reference collections.
CBE Senior Design Reports
CBE Senior Design Reports from previous years can serve as a model for how you prepare your final reports. They are availabe from Penn Libraries in two locations:
Since 2009, CBE Senior Design Reports have been uploaded into Penn's institutional repository, ScholarlyCommons. This link will take you directly to this collection.
Van Pelt Library
Print reports since 1993 may be found on the third floor of Van Pelt Library at call number TP155 .C5465. The link above provides a listing of available reports in Franklin, Penn Libraries online catalog.
Books are a great source of background information on a topic. They are more specific than encyclopedias, but they're still general enough to be understandable early in the research process. One thing to be aware of with this type of literature, however, is that the information contained is not terribly up-to-date, as the publication process for a book is lengthy.
You can find a lot of relevant books by browsing the TP call number sections of the Chemistry and Van Pelt Libraries collections, or you can try searching the following e-resources.
Franklin: Penn's Library Catalog
Link to the native interface for Penn's library catalog, which searches the holdings of all 15 libraries on campus.
BorrowDirect and E-ZBorrow
Search the catalogs of partner institutions that promise a 3-5 day delivery of books unavailable at Penn.
Interlibrary Loan Book Request
Use this from to request books that are not available via EZ Borrow or Borrow Direct. We will try to obtain a copy from elsewhere as quickly as possible.
Google Books Search
Allows you to search the full text of selected books. You may need to register for a free account at https://www.google.com/accounts/NewAccount if you do not already have one.
Search Franklin to determine whether or not Penn owns a book or encyclopedia of interest