Article databases - HSOC 10: Health and Societies - Europe and Former USSR

Introduction

These resources can be used for the Journal Articles Assignment and finding articles from a range of relevant disciplines.

Discipline-Specific Article Databases

These databases identify articles published in particular disciplines. You may need to use PennText to search for the article online or in print, or to request it from another library.

Just look for the PennText icon after the results from your database search:

Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Try your country as a subject term; if you have too many results to sort through, try adding "health" as a keyword.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Search using only your country as either subject term or keyword.
Sociological Abstracts
Search using your country in either the "descriptors" or "keywords" field. Try again with "health" as a keyword.
Anthropology PLUS
Search using your country as subject term and "health" as keyword.
ACCESS NOTE: 5 users. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser known journals, from the early 19th century to today. Broad geographical coverage emphasizes the Commonwealth and Africa and extends to Eastern Europe, the Americas, Asia, Australasia, and the Pacific. Covers fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.

PAIS
Bibliographic citations (1915-) with indexing on contemporary public policy issues worldwide. Search using your country in either the "descriptors" or "keywords" field. Try again with "health" as a keyword.

Multidisciplinary and regional article databases

Multidisciplinary and regional databases are powerful tools for finding articles. HOWEVER, it can be difficult to determine the disciplinary focus of an article you find. Don't assume that an article is in a particular discipline until you check with an expert.

Google Scholar
Extremely comprehensive search engine for articles.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Bibliographic citations for the international journal article and book literature in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES)
Description: Covers North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.
Sources: Includes citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, government publications, and more.
Holdings: 1990 to the present, selective coverage before 1990. Updated monthly.

Health-Specific Article Databases

Global Health
Global Health consists of more than 800,000 records from 1910 on, covering public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, more.
POPLINE
Bibliographic citations with subject indexing and abstracts for the scholarly literature in family planning, reproductive health, and related subjects.

HSOC 10: Health and Societies - Europe and Former USSR: Article databases

Introduction

Discipline-Specific Article Databases

Multidisciplinary and regional article databases

Health-Specific Article Databases