Elections and Voting Data - Research Guide

Dave Leip provides Excel spreadsheets for nationwide state-level and county-level election returns for U.S. Presidents (1789-present), State Governors (1990-present), and U.S. Senators (1990-present). The Penn Libraries have acquired data files from this source for Penn faculty, students, and staff when comparable coverage is unavailable from currently-held resources.

Electoral College votes, 1789-present; general election popular vote counts by state, 1824-present; voter turnout by state, 1960-present; presidential primary results by state, 2000-2008; senatorial election results by state, 1990-present. For spreadsheet versions of currently available data, see the above listing.

This archive contains data on election results, voting behavior, and electoral politics, with particular focus on the United States. The core data for the archive are state, county and district level election returns for all recent state and federal elections in the United States.

This ICPSR study contains raw and percentage returns for all regular congressional, gubernatorial, and senatorial elections in the United States from 1824-1972. Data are provided for the number of votes cast for the major parties, including the Democratic Party, the Old Republican Party, the National Republican Party, the Whig Party, the Liberal Party, and the Socialist Party, and for parties whose candidates received 5 percent or more of the statewide total vote, the percentages of the votes cast for the same parties, and the estimates of voter turnout in these Congressional elections. Additional variables provide percentages of citizens, including Blacks, foreign-born aliens, and white aliens aged 21 and older. All data are aggregated at the state level.

Electoral votes, popular votes, electors, and certificates of past presidential elections back to 1992 and electoral college box scores back to 1789.

ICPSR's holdings of historical election data cover the years 1788-1990 and consist of several discrete datasets that contain county- and state-level returns for all elections to the offices of president, governor, United States senator, and United States representative. Requires SPSS, SAS, or Stata.

National turnout as a percentage of the voting age population.

Reported voting and registration, method of voting, and reasons for not voting, by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics at national level for election years, 1964-present, from the Current Population Survey (CPS) November Supplement.

National, state, and regional turnout rates for presidential and congressional elections, 1824-2000, in PDF, HTML, and Excel formats. Penn only.

Registered voters who were eligible to cast ballots in biennial national elections by county, with registration by race, major or minor political party, other categories where available. From ICPSR, requires the use of SPSS, Stata, or SAS.

State and county totals for registered voters by mode of registration and votes cast by method of voting, as well as number of poll workers and voting technology, for election years from 2004 onward.

Since 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections from the official sources among the various states and territories.

Returns of all legislative candidates for state legislature appearing in general election from 1967 through 2003, and in primary elections in several states from 1967-1989.

Number of votes cast for the major parties, and for parties whose candidates received 5 percent or more of the statewide total vote, the percentages of the votes cast for the same parties, and the estimates of voter turnout in Congressional elections. From ICPSR; requires SPSS, SAS, or Stata.

Election returns at the county and state levels from the mid-nineteenth century to the late twentieth century for primary and general elections on statewide referenda, constitutional amendments, state House/Senate joint resolutions, and initiated measures. The ballot language of each measure is also included. County-level returns for most gubernatorial, senatorial, and congressional primary elections from 1910 to the present are documented as well. From ICPSR; requires SPSS, SAS, or Stata.

American election returns, 1787-1825, with varied coverage by state, but including some local elections.

Data on elections to state courts of last resort, 2010-2011.

County-level election returns for Pennsylvania covering U.S. presidential (1789-2000), U.S. senatorial (1912-2000), and Pennsylvania gubernatorial elections (1790-2002), with calculated percentages and maps. Includes directory of Pennsylvania state legislators, 1776-present.

County-level voter turnout statistics for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania for even-numbered years since 1972.