Political Communication: Databases

Accessible Archives offers several historic collections, from African American newspapers to Civil War periodicals.

Provides fulltext for U.S. alternative and independent newspapers, weeklies, magazines, and journals. Topics include the arts, media and popular culture, business and labor, literature and criticism, politics, government and public policy, from 1990 to present.

Full text, comprehensive archival database providing access to more than 400,000 articles in nearly 200 ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines, and journals. Full text archive of Phila Tribune, Jewish Exponent , and nearly 200 other ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines, and journals -- both English and Spanish.

Current and historical news from thousands of publications worldwide in over 20 languages. Company overviews and stock data are available for public companies.

Contemporary coverage of political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events worldwide, relying upon international and local language news sources. The FBIS Electronic Index provides access to the FBIS Daily Reports microfiche collection by subject (including personalities), date, country, and region.

Searchable fulltext of international and U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers. Coverage for current issues (i.e., yesterday in most cases) with extensive backfiles. Business and Management, Communication, Education, Philadelphia Studies, Political Science, Public Policy and Administration, Science and Engineering, Social Sciences, Sociology, Urban Studies.

Access to full-text national and international newspapers , including the New York Times. News sources also include magazines, broadcast transcripts, wire services, and Congressional publications

The last 60 days of 225 newspapers from 55 countries.

Multi-database search interface that allows for simultaneous searching of the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Defender, Pittsbugh Courier and Wall Street Journal

English translations of non-U.S. media sources.

Searchable page image reproductions of pre-1923 newspapers, worldwide. Based largely upon the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries, these newspapers are released in regional collections.

A bibliographic database indexing books, book chapters, and over 1,800 journals relating to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Covers theory and research in international affairs from 1991 to present--working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.

General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals. Includes large business file, Business Source Premier.

Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

Bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international journal article and book literature in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.

Back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.

ographic citations for the "literature on the left". Topics include anarchism, art and esthetics, community organizing, culture studies, ecology and environmental studies, economics, gay and lesbian studies, globalization, history, indigenous people's rights, labor, law, philosophy, politics, prisons and criminal justice, race and ethnicity, social theory and sociology, and women's studies and feminism.

Bibliographic citations (1915-) with indexing on contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide related to a wide range of topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education, health, environment, planning, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations.

Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.

Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.

Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching.

67% of the more than 1500 monitored journals are published outside the United States, and there are nearly 500,000 records beginning in 1975. Some of the records have fulltext links and coverage includes all aspects of political science, as well as international relations and comparative politics.

Searchable abstracting service for national television network news broadcasts. CNN and NBC broadcasts available as RealMedia video streams, 1998-present. VTNA lends videotapes of broadcasts or item compilations to individuals for a fee

Contains over one million Associated Press photographs (with searchable captions) in two collections, downloadable as JPEG (jpg) images: North American national, regional, state, and local photos with "the best international photos"; Euro/Asian photos.

Rich collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Question-level data from public opinion polls. Almost 400,000 questions from polls, 1935 to present, based upon Roper Center-archived surveys with US national adult samples or samples of large subnational populations. REQUIRES FREE REGISTRATION.

Online fulltext access to National Journal periodicals and resources. Provides coverage of current US government activity and policy, as well as technology and health care issues. For polling go to Special Reports, then Insider Polls in the dropdown menu.

Primary data, fulltext for approximately 250,000 individual questions and aggregated responses, often cross tabulated by respondent characteristics, compiled from public opinion surveys. Topics cover social, health, economic, and political issues at local, state, national, and international levels.