It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
edited by W.F. Bynum and Roy Porter. Publisher: London ; New York : Routledge, c1993. Description: Book 2 v. (xxvi, 1806 p.) : ill. ; 24 cm. Location: Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks Call Number: R133 .E5 1993
Covers topics ranging from abortion to zombification and detailed attention is given to complementary therapies, national medical systems, and the historical development of medicine. This thrid edition has been completely rewritten and includes a greater emphasis on the history of medicine, its cultural links with the arts and music, and its international nature.
Combining recent medical discoveries with historical and geographical scholarship, The Cambridge World History of Human Disease traces the concept of disease throughout history and in each major world region. It offers the history and geography of each significant human disease--both historical and contemporary--from AIDS to yellow fever, and touches on the variety of approaches that different medical traditions have used to fight disease.
Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, 1880-1961.Bibliographic citations with subject indexing to the holdings of largest medical library in the late nineteenth century. Now useful for research in the history of medicine, history of science, and also for clinical research. Describes books, journal articles, dissertations, pamphlets, reports, newspaper clippings, case studies, obituary notices, letters, portraits, as well as rare books and manuscripts in many languages, ranging in date from 1400s to 1950.
Though all of medicine includes articles on the history of medicine including those from the older Histline database. Here is a general description of Medline: The premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Resources in all languages are represented.
One of the main bibliographies for the history of medicine. Wellcome bibliography for the history of medicine ceased production as of July 2004 and the last monthly list was created at the beginning of July 2004. It started in 1954 as a printed bibliography of periodical articles on the history of medicine and allied sciences, and in 1991 became available online. Articles are available for view in the Library unless otherwise stated. BMJ obituaries were not generally included in Wellcome bibliography, but citations to them exist in the Library catalogue (from 1/6/1993). Wellcome bibliography archive files will continue to be available via the Wellcome Library website, as will the entries created in the Library catalogue
One of the main bibliographies for the history of medicine. Wellcome bibliography for the history of medicine ceased production as of July 2004 and the last monthly list was created at the beginning of July 2004. It started in 1954 as a printed bibliography of periodical articles on the history of medicine and allied sciences, and in 1991 became available online. Articles are available for view in the Library unless otherwise stated. BMJ obituaries were not generally included in Wellcome bibliography, but citations to them exist in the Library catalogue (from 1/6/1993). Wellcome bibliography archive files will continue to be available via the Wellcome Library website, as will the entries created in the Library catalogue.
The largest collection in the history of medicine in the world including incunabula, manuscript, visual and digital resources. Includes a national directory of history of medicine collection and links to other collections and resources.
The Historical Collection ranks among the best such collections housed in American medical schools, and is one of the few to be directly linked with a major research and graduate teaching program, The collection contains about forty thousand volumes, including runs of more than 300 journals. It has one of the most comprehensive collections of secondary literature in the history of medicine; and the 108 periodicals to which the collection now subscribes include almost all currently published titles in history of medicine, history of science and social studies of medicine. We attempt to acquire all new English-language monographic works in the history of health care and the biomedical sciences, as well as selected material in foreign languages, and in medical anthropology, art and medicine, literature and medicine, religion and medicine, gender issues in medicine, bioethics, and the history and sociology of science.
The Center for the History of Medicine, Countway Library, houses one of the world's leading collections in the history of health care and medicine, with strong holdings in virtually every medical discipline, including anatomy, anesthesiology, cardiology, dentistry, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, psychiatry, and surgery. The Center offers access to the personal and professional papers of prominent American physicians and is the institutional repository for the records of Harvard Medical School (founded 1782), Harvard School of Dental Medicine (1867), and Harvard School of Public Health (1922).
The Historical Library of the Cushing/Whitney Medical Library holds one of the largest medical historical collections in the world. It was founded in 1941 through the joint efforts of Harvey Cushing, John F. Fulton, and Arnold C. Klebs, whose rare books formed the core of the collection. In the 1940s, all medical books and journals from the main Yale library were transferred to the Medical Library. The collection has grown through donations and endowment funds. The Historical Library houses all medical library books before 1900 and all journals before 1921. It covers Western medicine, medical sciences, and healthcare broadly conceived. It includes the Streeter Collection of Weights and Measures, the Clements C. Fry Collection of Prints and Drawings, and manuscripts from the 13th to 20th century (but not the official archives of the Medical School).Collection includes 125,000 rare book and journal volumes.