It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Franklin is your guide to books here at Penn Libraries. Searching by subject heading (the topic of the book) will yield the best results, once you have identified the subject heading of interest. Some useful subject headings include:
WorldCat will be a valuable resource for searching the catalogs of other libraries. WorldCat can be searched using the same subject headings you used in Franklin. If you find something not held at Penn, you may request it viaBorrowDirect, EZBorrow, or Interlibrary Loan.
Every research question will require different databases for the literature search, depending on the questions asked. In addition to general databases like Google Scholar, JSTOR, orScopus, consider these specialized databases for the relevant field.
Bibliographic citations with abstracts describing scholarly literature in all aspects of urban studies.
Bibliographic citations with abstracts describing scholarly literature in all aspects of urban studies. Topics include trends in urbanization, urban history, architecture and urban design, housing and real estate, urban development and redevelopment, urban planning and land use, environment and resource conservation, transporation and communication, crime and law enforcement, urban economics, social services and public services, politics and government, urban fiscal and budgetary policy, and social issues.
Index of social and public policy literature, with a strong international coverage. Useful terms include "cities & towns," "urban conditions," "urban policy," and "redevelopment."
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts also covers the scholarly policy literature.